Me pico un pollito


Advertisement
Published: October 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

I received 16 chickens one day when I wasnt even in my site and set up a temporary home while we built another. This is when they were still living in, and stinking up, my shower area.
A short update in pictures. I am starting up different classes again - health for women, sex ed for kids, youth group for kids. The second year motivation is definitely not equal to the first. Even though the summer project was successful (improved stoves) trying to maintain people's participation is a struggle. And perhaps now expectations are higher - I cant tell you how many times a week I get the - and what are you going to do for us next - which I object to not only in terms of the language but also the expectation. I try to hold back the reply that I use when people ask me what I have brought back for them (nothing, the same thing you have ever brought me) but the temptation is certainly there. No one ever said development, if that's what this is, is easy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Photo 2Photo 2
Photo 2

My chickens are slowly learning to not sleep in a muddle on the ground.
Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

Granpa chicken.
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

Their house might be nicer than mine.
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

Las Galeras beach in Samana.
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

The hotel where we stayed had a horde of giant dogs who loved to swim with anyone who went in the water.
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

Playa Rincon
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

More Playa Rincon.


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb