Senior Class Trip to the Dominican Republic


Advertisement
Published: September 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Rickety BridgeRickety BridgeRickety Bridge

On the way to a waterfall
I attended a Christian school from kindergarten to senior year. The school had both pros and cons, but the biggest pro to me was that my senior class trip was going to be an amazing opportunity to travel down to the Dominican Republic on a missions trip. Now, a missions trip may put some of you off, but it is truely one of the most amazing experiences ever. I myself am not the most religious of people but going down to another country to help out is really quite fantastic.

My trip lead me to the village of La Vega. The plane landed in Santiago, the capital of the DR and from there a missionary brought us to the small village an hour away. The streets we were on, I don’t believe it had a name, was a dirt road with small shacks on them. The church we stayed in had a second story that included a kitchen, dining area and two rooms for the guys and girls rooms. Our rooms consisted of bunk beds and a bathroom. (Side note: the electricity in the Dominican Republic revolves around the island so for an hour at least every day we had
SunsetSunsetSunset

Sunset in the Dominican Republic
no electricity unless of course you are staying at one of the many resorts).

Unpacked, we went downstairs and were greeted by all the children. Not speaking any Spanish, I understood very little of what they were saying to me but it didn’t matter. They were overjoyed to see us and constantly tried taking pictures with us.

After spending time with the children, we went into the main part of town. The town is a very happening place were we were able to exchange money, call home and get some ice cream. Although you have to be careful about what you eat, the ice cream is both safe and pretty good. Walking around there is a gorgeous catholic cathedral that I wish I knew the name to, but if you can find it stop by

The next two days were very busy. My group went to a school to fix one of the buildings. The roof needed to be repaired and gravel needed to be moved. (I think I spent more time playing basketball with the kids then helping with the gravel). From there we went to two churches, preformed skits and bonded with the kids. The experience was really amazing.

The next day included a six hour trip to an orphanage. It was an all boy orphanage, with 70 children of all ages. I had brought a whole suitcase of toys and balls and what not and these kids really appreciated it. I had a lot of G.I. Joe men and the kids really loved them. The kids were all really wonderful and loved our gifts. We preformed some skits for them and they taught us a song in Spanish. There was one little boy who stayed with me the whole time. I never learned his name because he never spoke, but he was so sweet and I remember him over any of the other children. Leaving was so hard and I won’t lie, I cried.

The next two days we got to explore the island a little. Of course we played with the kids and went to church services, but we also got to go to two waterfalls. I wish I could tell you there names, but for the life of me I can’t remember. These waterfalls were the most beautiful places I had ever visited. Climbing up behind them and jumping into the water was so cool!

The first waterfall was a good distance away. You had to walk over these rickety bridges that probably should have had capacity signs on them but didn’t. Once at the waterfall we were able to jump off rocks and have some great times. The next waterfall was even better. We hiked a bit and when we finally reached our destination the view was really spectacular. The best part was that you can walk behind this waterfall. I got to warn you to be careful though. The current is rather strong and I myself have a permanent reminder of the waterfall because of the nice scar on my foot (which is totally worth it).

Most of the following days were spent with the kids of La Vega. One tried to give me their cat and the other showed me his pet turtle. Several children pointed to the sky and around the sun was a rainbow which was really amazing, but I never found out what it was.

Our last day in La Vega was really a difficult one because we had all become so close with all of the children. We preformed more skits and taught more lessons and when it was time to go I believe most of us were teary eyed. The thing that struck us all, was that even though they had nothing they were so willing to give us anything they had to offer. The kids loved us just for being there. And although I never understood what they were saying I learned so much from them.

From La Vega we headed to Punta Cana Resort. After spending eight days in the village and seeing and being with these people it didn’t seem right to go to the resort. I can honestly say I didn’t have nearly as much fun there as I did in the village.

Puerto Plata is were we stayed for the next two days. The ocean was gorgeous and warm. Our rooms were nice, and the hotel itself is really pretty. If you walk down the beach there are huts were you can barter for souvenirs. Besides relaxing at the pool or the beach you can rent a kayak or some snorkeling gear and hit the ocean. The little time we spent there was pleasant and filled with new adventures.


“I have been a wanderer among distant fields. I have sailed down mighty rivers.” ~ Percy Bysshe Shelley


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb