crying and throwing up


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba
April 9th 2007
Published: April 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We went down to our hotel lobby early am to register for the Cubacan bus between our hotels. Breakfast here wasn´t so yummy, there was strange coleslaw and potato stuff. Alex didn´t eat anything.

The coach was purple, very cool with air conditioning, was patrolled by hordes of mosquitos and captained by a woman who babbled away incomprehensibly in indistinguishable spanish and English. We drove for about 2 and a half hours with a very eventful stop at a service station. We got off the coach and stepped out into the sweltering heat. Then we noticed a starving dog. He was probably the thinnest dog I´d seen in Cuba which is saying something because some of the Havana dogs were painfully thin. This dog was also almost bald with some skin disease, his movements showed that he was in pain, and there were really horrible wounds on him - his ears were raw and bleeding. I went tinto the service station cafe and bought a plate of ham "por el perro." They gave me quite a big pile of ham for my money and I took the plate out to the dog. He jumped back, frightened, as I put the plate down, but he smelt the meat and, I have never seen anything so hungry, grabbed the whole pile of ham in his mout and swallowed it in like, 2 bites. He looked up at me really gratefully, and after a few seconds, stepped towards me. I burst into tears because I didn´t know what I could do to helkp this poor, sweet dog. Although I was wearing black sunglasses, my tears left make up streaks that ran to my neck. Alex comforted me nut then she had to crouch down at the roadside to be sick. What a fun journey.

Advertisement



12th April 2007

Flashback
This brings me back to you crying about a horse...i forget when...Marbella??

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb