Cuba 2024


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba » Mayabeque
February 17th 2024
Published: February 17th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Memories JicaboaMemories JicaboaMemories Jicaboa

View of resort from hill with near shore reef. Great snorkeling.
As my friends and I have been turning 50, we planned a group trip to Cuba to celebrate our collective milestone (or millstone?). Sixteen of us converged on the Memories Jicaboa resort for a week of all-inclusive fun. We flew in to Varadero on Feb 4 and had our own bus to bring us to the resort about 1 hour to the west. It was a fun week even though the weather was a bit cool and windy for much of the week. I brought my kiteboarding gear so took advantage of the windy conditions. A crisis was averted when I realized I forgot my kite pump but I found a fellow kiter who works at the neighbouring resort. Arlen not only provided a pump but also repaired a tear in my kite.

The whole group of us spent one day traveling to Havana in classic cars and were able to take in the city and have an interesting dinner. Sites included the statue of Jesus, old fortress, and wandering old downtown Havana which has a number of old squares and interesting architecture. Some did a tour of the rum museum while others of us went to the market to shop for souvenirs.

The rest of our time was spent on our around our resort. The resort is fairly isolated with lots of nature so we were able to hike up the nearby hill for some nice views. Snorkeling around the reef was great when the waves were calm. Other activities I enjoyed were pickleball (a first for me), playing cards, hanging out at the pool or beach, and enjoying mimosas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Kiteboarding. Kiteboarding.
Kiteboarding.

It was a very windy week so I got in 4 sessions that week.
La Bodeguita del MedioLa Bodeguita del Medio
La Bodeguita del Medio

This bar claims to be the birthplace of mojitos, so we stopped in for one.
Gran Teatro de la HabanaGran Teatro de la Habana
Gran Teatro de la Habana

The National capitol building (Whitehouse replica) is in the left background
Dinner visitorDinner visitor
Dinner visitor

At an open air resturant in Havana with live music


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb