Last surf in Jaco


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica
November 20th 2004
Published: November 20th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Sunset at Playa JacoSunset at Playa JacoSunset at Playa Jaco

Last view of Jaco... the dots in the sea are surfers catching the last few waves in daylight.
Woah, it’s been 4 and a half weeks and now time to leave Costa Rica - where did the time go ? The last week has been a bit steady due to an injury I sustained while snorkling at a small cove north of Jaco on Sunday. I managed to hit a sharp rock with my foot which took a chunk of flesh out and sliced into a vein…. So watching blood pouring out of my foot out at sea and knowing there were sharks about was very interesting… (is it only me who hears that Jaws theme when swimming in the sea ?).
So my last couple of days are going to be in the capital San Jose (which I have been warned by all the locals here is very dangerous) so as such at my last Spanish class I made my teacher (the very pretty and young Tania) teach me all of the swear words I would need for San Jose, which is very entertaining when trying to translate - now I feel I’ve I have really learnt Latin American Spanish !
So if I don’t manage to write anymore about Costa Rica before leaving, my advice is come and check it out for yourself, its cheap, the locals are extremely friendly (especially when you tell them that you are a poor student of Spanish), the food is good (as long as you like rice and beans with every meal, everyday), the weather is good (even the tropical rainstorms are fun), the waves are fantastic, and it is far enough away from English package holidays that to be English and to be here is a bit of a novelty for the locals. Overall it is definitely ‘PURA VIDA’.
See you next time in Bali.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb