First morning in CR! (and trip details lol)


Advertisement
Published: August 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I am here! Finally got to San Jose after about 12 hours of planes and airports...

I was on schedule, left Phoenix on time and everything, but an hour into my flight they said there was something wrong with the cabin pressure and so they turned us around and took us back to Phoenix.

When we got to Phoenix, they supposedly had a plane ready to go for us. Not so much. They did have a plane, sitting on the tarmac in the 116 degree heat, which they corralled us into almost immediately (after generously offering us water and a "snack box" for our trouble). Only problem, they still needed to fuel, inspect, and likely paint the damn plane. Instead of leaving "right away" we sat in the hot plane for over an hour while they did their thing. Not the most comfortable thing to do, especially with the a/c at half strength.

Once we were airborne, we found out that only one of the plane's bathrooms was working in the coach section, thus leading to lines of people 6 deep down the aisle. Now, the first class bathroom was working too, but apparently US Airways feels that it's better to inconvenience the whole plane in order to not disturb the 4 people (literally, only 4 people) in first class. I can't blame the flight crew though. While they wouldn't let us use the bathroom in first class, they were still very polite and helpful, and not one of them triggered the slide when we landed. So that's a bonus.

Took a cab through San Jose to my hotel and was reminded quite a bit of cities in Mexico. But it was still really cool. I can't wait to see it during daylight. My hotel is nice, very pretty building, and I guess a good location although I have to say that at night I think it goes a little south. But I've been to TJ many times and so the smell of piss, the sight of stray perros, and the calls of hookers don't phase me one bit. I'm enjoying it =)

Today, I am going to enjoy breakfast here at the hotel, then maybe walk around a bit before I fly to Quepos. I'll update when I get there!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb