A sloth is not one of the seven deadly sins...


Advertisement
Published: October 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So this last weekend ISA was supposed to go to Manuel Antonio, but it had been raining for days all over the country, particularly on the Pacific side, so our trip got scratched. However, lots of us were set on hitting the beach that weekend, so under our own gumption and colones we headed to Puerto Viejo, on the Caribbean side of things.

We left on a bus at 4 and finally got to PV around 9:30, in search of a hostel called Rockin' J's, which is fairly famous as far as hostels in Costa Rica are concerned. It contains a restaurant/bar, and 3 types of sleeping accommodations: actual rooms, tents, or open air hammocks. We opted for tents due to a general paranoia of contracting dengue, but most of our tents didn't zip anyway and if I end up back there I'll sleep in a hammock. It was right on a (rocky) beach, but pretty much split the difference between a nicer beach and downtown.

I SAW A SLOTH! which was awesome. It was chillin in a tree near the hostel and someone who worked there drew our attention to it! Now it's sea turtle time, and I can go home happy.

We rode bikes around and swam around in the clear, warm, Caribbean water and basically just got San Jose out of our systems, which was great.

(Side note, I'm sitting at Veritas writing on my laptop, and the most hilarious outfit just walked in. Dark yellow/almost orange courdouroys, a long sleeved yellow button down, a subtly patterned blue tie, Einstein-esqe hair, and HUGE mad scientist type glasses. I'm at an arts school where everyone is always dressed not in outfits, but ensembles, and I really wish I knew what this guy's story is. He ordered a cafe con leche and is now dipping biscotti in it.)

In other news, classes are still going well, this is my last week of Espanol Intermedio Uno. I have learned, about myself, that I am not a calm and relaxed American. I like to have a plan and to know where I am headed. I may one day be a workaholic. Alas. Speaking of working, it's homework time.

My time here is 25% complete. Crazy.





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Painted at Rockin J's. Painted at Rockin J's.
Painted at Rockin J's.

Notice the Imperial Crate on top.


22nd October 2008

AWESOME!!
That's so friggen cool! I dont' really understand half of your first paragraph but whatever, you saw a SLOTH and got to to to the carribean! nice! Glad you're having fun!

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb