It's part of my charm.


Advertisement
Published: October 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Monteverde!Monteverde!Monteverde!

Our hotel!
Hello, world, I played in the rainforest last weekend. Go on, be jealous.

So the ISA students went to Monteverde. After a 6 hour long bus ride that should have been 4 over rushing, chocolate covered rivers in a gigantic bus, we finally made it. We ate dinner and just hung out around the hotel that night, dancing a little at the in-hotel bar, and Pinto DJEd. Did you know that Yellow Tail wine is sold in Costa Rica?

Saturday was a busy busy day. Saturday morning, we went on a ziplining canopy tour! I swung on a Tarzan swing and they have two HUGE lines that just go out over a valley... it was beautiful, and so green! Next, I went on a horseback riding tour, which was OK. It took us up to a beautiful outlook, but it was slow paced and my horse Canario was pretty lazy. However, I did get to help rein in a slightly out of control horse that one of my friends was riding, so that made it worth it. Afterwards, we went back to the hotel to eat lunch, and on the bus I got to explain my REU project to
The Quetzal Room!The Quetzal Room!The Quetzal Room!

The whole hotel was covered in pretty paintings.
my friend Chris, who actually seemed interested, but it really made me miss the station! During lunch, a cat accidentally got into the dining room, panicked, and escaped into the kitchen THROUGH the penne pasta. After lunch a few girls and I toured a coffee plantation, which will eventually be a whole blog in and of itself. Some serious girl bonding happened that night around a fire, and on Sunday morning we went hiking in the park. I could have spent several weeks, instead of several hours there, but it wasn't my say. I haven't seen any cool animals yet, but there's still time. My friend Kevin claims he saw a Jaguar on satuday nightThe bus ride on the way back was much shorter, and I went to bed early on Sunday night.

And we're off to Arenal this weekend! I'm loving my life right now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Should've been dancing.Should've been dancing.
Should've been dancing.

Chris and Kevin.
Actually dancing.Actually dancing.
Actually dancing.

I taught him everything he knows. No, seriously.
Proper TechniqueProper Technique
Proper Technique

Britney demonstrating how to zipline.
BridgeBridge
Bridge

Ziplining!
PlatformPlatform
Platform

Tarzan Swinging! I screamed a little bit on the way down.
Ziplining.Ziplining.
Ziplining.

If you look close enough, there is a tiny dot in the sky. That, my friends, is a zipliner. Help with the perspective much?
Mi caballo!Mi caballo!
Mi caballo!

Canario. Lazy horse.
Overlook.Overlook.
Overlook.

If it had been clear, we could have seen Arenal.
Happy HayleyHappy Hayley
Happy Hayley

I <3 coffee.
The Guide, AlexThe Guide, Alex
The Guide, Alex

I would have bought him as a souvenir.
Working hard?Working hard?
Working hard?

Or hardly working?
MothMoth
Moth

Look for the clown face!
Dobson fly.Dobson fly.
Dobson fly.

Look at those chompers. OW.
Bridge in the canopy.Bridge in the canopy.
Bridge in the canopy.

Me and my roomie!
I'm starting to like plants.I'm starting to like plants.
I'm starting to like plants.

They're just so green!
SafetySafety
Safety

Doesn't this secure looking rail make you feel better?
Pretty!Pretty!
Pretty!

I took lots of annoying super close up pictures of flowers.


9th October 2008

yes ma'am...i support you. always.
15th October 2008

dang! that is so awesome! You make me want to study abroad in Costa Rica!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb