So girls, when a guy starts to hit you...


Advertisement
Published: September 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My StreetMy StreetMy Street

It wasn't raining at the time! :)
No, Paulo. Hit ON you. Hitting is like (insert bitch-slap hand gesture here). Hitting ON is like "Hey baby."

Nothing breaks the ice like the language barrier? Our director, Paulo, was trying to give us advice on how to deal with men, but it didn't cover the basics of how to box. Bummer.

So, first things first, my family and roommate are awesome! My "Tico Mom" is named Maritza and she is a fabulous cook AND speaks enough English that we can usually understand each other. Her husband, Jorge, their niece Sofia, and a son named Gustavo live in the house. I also have a roommate named Kate who is from Ohio, and who has been here for a month already but who didn't speak any Spanish when she arrived and is still having a great time, which is encouraging.

In other news, everyone in my program seems awesome. There is one other guy from USC, but it seems like almost everyone is from the West Coast somewhere. Maybe I will be headed to California for Spring Break, after all.

Enough basics. I've had orientation for ISA and at Universidad Veritas. I'll talk more about the university
Paris Hilton!Paris Hilton!Paris Hilton!

My friend Kate rocks.
in another blog, with lots of cool pictures. Most of us live very close to the university, and near each other, which is great. One guy lives less than a block away, two girls live two houses down, and another girl named Kate lives just around the corner. It's very easy to meet up with people so not having a cell phone hasn't really been a problem. Last night a big group of us met at the university, went and got pizza and had a few beers. We played the name game and foosball and are all still trying to figure it all out.

Hmm, what else? Today we went on a brief tour of downtown San Jose in the rain. Oh, the weather! Beautiful in the morning and with rain starting at noon and lasting until after dark. It's an interesting balance, but it's so worth it to have all of this green! I can't wait to get out of the city and see more of it, and we have excursions planned for the next 3 weekends to Monte Verde, Arenal, and Manuel Antonio. Look for those blogs on Sundays or Mondays.

And I've almost started typing
Wi-Fi in the Jungle Wi-Fi in the Jungle Wi-Fi in the Jungle

(in a Courtyard at Veritas)
automatically in Spanish several times during this blog, which is fabulous and makes me happy. Hasta luego!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

I'm sorry, Mom and Dad.I'm sorry, Mom and Dad.
I'm sorry, Mom and Dad.

My first beer in Costa Rica!
Amigos!Amigos!
Amigos!

Lauren, Sean, un Tico, Kevin, y Pinto
Pinto, me, and Lauren.Pinto, me, and Lauren.
Pinto, me, and Lauren.

I just like the faces.
Happy East-Coasters!Happy East-Coasters!
Happy East-Coasters!

Kevin, Pinto, and Me.


7th October 2008

JORGE!!!!
I'm so glad you're living with a Jorge. That makes me really happy. I miss you, but we're both having a blast! We should Skype at some point soon!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb