Day 2 - A Club?..


Advertisement
Published: September 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Some bartenderSome bartenderSome bartender

Random bartender from El Pueblo.
Ok, so the food here is crazy freaking good. Like, your tongue makes the rest of your body feel bad. I don't even know what I'm eating, but its always amazing. It looks like it could be mystery meat from your old grade school cafeteria lunchlady, but it tastes like it just came straight from the cow... or something like that.

I had the realization riding the bus today that this place really is a 3rd world coun.... er... developing nation. The paradise part of things is really the people and the nature (that is outside of San Jose). More on this later.

I had orientation with ULACIT (Latin American Institute of Science and Technology) and ISA (International Studies Abroad) and there are 21 girls and 5 guys. It was like freshman year orientation all over again - in Spanish. "Hola........ (silence)....... me llamo Juan, y tu?........"

Then I found out there was a Costa Rican National Soccer Team game the next day. I asked who wanted to go and BAM! suddenly I became "Group Coordinator." What? Really? I blame SEAC and Quadstock and Mike and Renata. This is what happens. So, I collected over 200,000 in colones
ISA girls at PuebloISA girls at PuebloISA girls at Pueblo

We never found them, but they took pictures, so... yea.
(the national currency, about 550 to $1) to go buy tickets; a blond white kid with tons of cash on him - I was a walking bullseye... Got to the bank where they sell tickets - yes, the bank is the only place that sells tickets to the national soccer game - and they would only sell me 4 tickets per buyer. BAH! So, I went home and napped.

I woke up and my roommate Matt and I went out to meet some of the girls at what we thought was a bar called "El Pueblo." Turns out it was a giant complex of clubs, restaurants, bars, and shops. Long story short, we couldn't find the girls from ISA. Instead we walked around to different bars (where shots and beers are just $1 each). We met a Colombian guy from Houston who was kicking it in Costa for a while. He looked Jamaican and was hitting on the young Tica waitress. Friendly guy who kinda looks like Sam, my landlord. Totally Pura Vida though.

Later we went to a club. To quote the immortal Dave Niehaus, my oh my. The Ticos are crazy, mildly gross in their pursuit of women, and uncomfortably aggressive - the ones at the clubs that is. As soon as a female walks in, they are on her like those ants from Indiana Jones... yea. I was crazy uncomfortable in there and desperately longed for the Maha Raja or Rosebud on the Hill. If I was with some close friends or a girlfriend or something, it MIGHT be alright, but really, if you know me, its not really my scene. There's a video on here that shows how nuts it was. If Waud was here doing his monkey dance, THEN I'd totally be down. Anyhow, after about an hour, we went home and crashed.

I found out that there's going to be internet at my house in a couple weeks, hopefully, so that should be sick. Soccer game recap in tomorrow's blog......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb