I do have internet!!!!


Advertisement
Published: June 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,

It turns out that I do have intenet here!! I can use it once a day, so I decided that I would update you with what I can remember from the past fews days. Last weekend we went to Arenal (an active volcano). The bus ride was long and boring but when we got there we realized that it was all worth it. Right when we got into town we hiked the volcano. It was absolutly beautiful! I will be able to post pictures when I get home. We stayed in a resort that was at the base of the volcano. The resort had natural hot springs, 2 pools and a spa. I could not believe that us college student where staying there!

Sunday we left for the long drive to Roblealto. This is where we are now at the orphanage. The orphange has 5 houses that each have from 10-16 kids in them. It is a christian based organization. If you are intersted to read more about what they do you can go to www.roblealto.org. Along with each house there are 1 set of foster parents. This is where we go to have our breakfast and dinner. The kids are sooo excited for us to be here. When the children say prayer before every meal they always thank the "american volunteers for coming".

The things that these children have been through are just horrible. The children were taken from their family for various reasons such as, sexual abuse, being forced into prostitution, parents not caring for the children correctly, death, etc. Although all of the children here have been through the worst they are all so extremely resilant!!! They are also all very attached to us and come running to give hugs whenever they see us!

I had a very eventful day today (Tuesday)!!! I woke up at 6 for breakfast (crazy early I know, but we have to do it everyday). Then after breakfast I went and started painting the playgrounds (they are all in rough condition). Around lunch time I had to stop to eat and because the rain was headed our way. (fyi, it is rainy season/winter here so it rains everyday around noon). After lunch I asked the director of the orphanage if I could sit in on a class (the orphanage has there own school). She said yes and I headed to watch a first grade class. I helped the teach teach math and English. Then when the children were dismissed for the day, their teacher asked me if I could do her a favor. GET THIS....She thinks I did well teaching and needs me to sub for here tomorrow all day cause she has meetings!!! Soooo I am going to be a 1st grade teacher tomorrow in a Spanish school. I was told to teach science, math, and social studies. Then when I am done with that I am supposed to teach english. and yes I am teaching it in all Spanish. Also keep in mind that the kids are not the best kids in the world. They have all been through some type of abuse or maltreatment. This can create for some lack of listening skills, on top of a language barrier. Even though it will be tough it will be something that I will never forget!!! Wish me luck!

I am exhausted and I cannot think of any other updates. I will be back in the states in 4 days!!! See everyone then.

Rachel

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0897s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb