San Jose


Advertisement
Published: February 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today I woke up some ridiculous time like 6:30 am. I spent the first half of the day wandering around San Jose. It was much better than I remembered, and expected (no dead guys this time). The downtown is very walkable (except that I was breaking in my new shoes and have blisters). There are several portions of streets that cars cannot drive on. At least two open markets. Of course there were the usual areas that smell like pee. There was not tons of trash. I saw an area for recycling too! The hostel isn´t in nearly as an accessible area as it was made out to be, but it is walking distance. My favorite meal of the day was a fried plantain with grated queso fresco (a type of fresh cheese) in sprinkled on it. Some old lady kept talking to me while I was eating, but she was difficult to understand. She kept telling everyone how cute the teenaged boy who works there is. I saw some decent public art. My favorite was the series about street dogs they are cartoony dogs made out of sheet metal, but it is done in a very 2D way. (The aluminum gigantic street band came in second.)

This afternoon I spent in a hammock reading ¨The Testament¨ by ... that guy? (The one who wrote ¨The Client¨). Then I wandered around some more.

I tried Costa Rican beer, not as good as when I was a minor.

The guy who is sleeping in the bed next to mine is from Colorado and going to La Tortuga Feliz tomorrow. He will be there for a week while I am. A friend is meeting him there then they are going to Panama and volunteering at Lost and Found, if they accept me I will see them there too! Hopefully. It is so much nicer when I know people. I kicked ass at a game of GIGANTIC scrabble. The table was the board.

(Going back to my last post I said Veggie Burgers were expensive. They are about $9 for a box, I´m not just cheap in case there was any doubt.)

Advertisement



6th February 2010

see you there
Hey that's me! I'm the friend meeting your Colorado friend from Hostel Bekuo at La Totuga Feliz. Signed up for my travelblog today and happened by yours. See you down there!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb