Alajuela to Ciudad Colon


Advertisement
Published: June 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

SO this entry is late--but who cares? No one is reading this but ME! Well, right now at least. Here's a brief recap of the past two day's events:

I had a layover in Norf Kuralina for three hours where I finally watched Another Gay Movie in the airport. Looking back at it, it probably wasn't the best idea as there were some explicit scenes. I turned around and a nice-looking older white lady (at least I assumed she was nice--it's Norf Kuralina, right?) was looking at what I was watching. She wasn't mortified so I think she didn't see it. I left the airport to arrive in the city of Alajuela where I thought I was meeting my travel buddy Katelynn. Buuuuut I pulled an Armando and got the time wrong and ended up waiting at the airport for her for like an hour and a half. Finally, I said fuck it and took a taxi to the hostel where the gentleman at the front told me she had already arrived. We explored the small city for a little bit, got some beers (Imperials) and came back to the hostel and fell asleep pretty early. There was a religious procession going on in the evening and a soccer match; it was interesting. For some reason the time seems like it goes by so slowly here. It's only 10:13 now! But feels much later.

The next day we went to Hostel Bekuo in San Jose. The hostel was ah-may-zing! So big and the staff was very good-looking--cause, you know, that's the true marker of a good hostel. But really though, I'd totally stay there again and for longer. We didn't explore San Jose too much, but we got some really good food in this mall-like place. We got back to the hostel and watched Catch Me If You Can with some of the other people and then went back to the room to watch The Golden Compass and some episodes of How I Met Your Mother. Then came Ciudad Colon.

I have to admit, I had some reservations about coming here and meeting my new "family" and roommate Mark, but it's turning out to be a great experience. The host mom lives alone with an adorable dog named Osito who I'm absolutely smitten with! (I'll try not to talk about how cute he is.) From Facebook stalking Mark, I thought he was gay, but this supposition was quickly put to rest when we went out to get coffee and he told me something about a girlfriend he had. I guess that takes the pressure off a little bit. While at the restaurant, we met two other master's students named Ingo and Kristine from Norway I believe. We chatted for a couple hours and they were extremely amicable. Ingo was super drunk and kept starting these incoherent stories and ended by saying "I won't go there." Oh. But I wanted him to go there! We then scurried off to our orientation where we met the rest of the students in the program.

We had pizza there which quickly disagreed with my stomach (what doesn't though?) and chatted. I finally saw Casey who I had been eager to see again just cause she's a little piece of Berkeley I can relate to. Afterwards, we got down to business and we were all discussing the ways in which we could drink and where we could obtain said libations. We went to the store and got some wine and headed over to Stephanie's big ass annexed apartment and had some great conversation there. I found my soul mate here in regards to RuPaul's Drag Race--it was actually Shackford-Bradley's daughter! Now, I am back in the house and about to call it a night after some reading as we have an early morning! Until next time... Pura vida!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb