Day 8: Monteverde – Zipping away and Setting a trap!


Advertisement
Published: July 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

This morning, after breakfast, the group headed over to Sky Adventures for our zip-lining adventure. Costa Rican zip-lines are known to be incredibly long and fast. They are a great way to view the beautiful Costa Rican forests from above. I’ve zip-lined in Jamaica before. However, the zip-lines in Jamaica, cannot compare to the ones in Monteverde. Zip-lining in Costa Rica was scarier but once accustomed I was able to appreciate the beauty of the cloud forest below. Like Jamaica, the last zip-line was a bungee jump. The hardest part was preparing myself to jump off the platform. I am glad, I forced myself to jump. Zip-lining was an incredible experience and I will definitely do it again.



Three people from our group decided not go zip-lining. However, they did spot a quetzal while waiting for the group. Darn, this is the second quetzal sighting I missed.



After zip-lining we headed over to the Santa Elena Reserve where we set up a trapping camera, previously donated by another Mac-Serve alumni group. It was pretty awesome that we were able to contribute to further research in the area.



Tomorrow, we have a full day of volunteering on the reserve and in the evening, we are going on a night tour.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Zip-liningZip-lining
Zip-lining

A view of Arenal Volcano
Zip-liningZip-lining
Zip-lining

I jumped!
Zip-liningZip-lining
Zip-lining

The end of our zip-lining adventure
Zip-liningZip-lining
Zip-lining

Sebastian the coati
Zip-liningZip-lining
Zip-lining

Sebastian looking for food


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb