P.N. Manuel Antonio


Advertisement
Published: March 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Afternoon SwimAfternoon SwimAfternoon Swim

Not the best photo taken from the bus, but still interesting to see Tico youth just lounging on the government´s next sewer project.
Hitting the open road on my own! Friday 23 to Saturday 24 de Febrero

I had spent lots of time traveling with peers or with family friends around Costa Rica, but I knew it was time to discover some of the country for myself. I chose Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio because I had heard that it was basically an incredibly beautiful park that has been turned into one of the top five tourist spots in the country. Some one wrote that it was to Costa Rica as Main Street USA is to Disney World, just with more animal life, forest, and the Pacific Ocean. I felt like I should give it a go, but I didn´t want to spend any more than a day there. My cousin was getting baptised on that sunday, so I only had that friday and saturday, which was exactly what I wanted. I bussed to Quepos and stayed in a great backpacker´s hostel, visited the village that night, met people from all the world, went dancing, stayed up late, got up early, and spent the day at the park...


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Cantantes!Cantantes!
Cantantes!

Like I said, Disney World. Quepos is a 20 minute bus ride from the village of Manuel Antonio, and upon arriving, you are greeted by many sights such as this.
Touristy, yes, but I couldn´t resist.Touristy, yes, but I couldn´t resist.
Touristy, yes, but I couldn´t resist.

These colorful sheets (what do you call them?) lined the length of the beach, each vendor proclaiming the superiority of their wares. A quick walk around revealed that they are all from the same manufacturer, and, although no one would give me a clear answer about who made them, I was rather enchanted and bought one (after bargaining down the price) to adorn my dorm room wall. Each has written in hip scribe "Costa Rica" and "Pura Vida" in case I forget where I got it or the quality of life there. snazzy.
Parasailing!Parasailing!
Parasailing!

I did this once! Despite the gringo hordes, I can´t think of a place that would be much better to do this. I watched the sun set from this vantage in about 30 minutes from the time of photography.
Park Entrance StampedePark Entrance Stampede
Park Entrance Stampede

This may be where M.A. differs itself from Island of Adventure in the States; you´re looking at the entrance, more or less to the park. I had to ask someone where to go. After a short little walk along an unmarked but well-worn path, I arrived at the no-frills ranger booth, payed my ridiculous entrance fee, and went on my way.
Obligatory SignObligatory Sign
Obligatory Sign

If I was with my brothers, we would have picked Tyler up and held him upside down for the photo. Alas, traveling alone has its (relitively few) drawbacks.
A Walk in the WoodsA Walk in the Woods
A Walk in the Woods

This is why I got up early; I wanted to experience the park with as few visitors as I could, and it was rather nice. This is on the path to Playa Escondito, the farthest beach within the park.
Jesus Chirst LizardJesus Chirst Lizard
Jesus Chirst Lizard

I don´t claim to know that much about wildlife, but I don´t know why this guy is packing such a name. Although I didn´t catch any good photos, I also saw some monkeys as I walked through the forest, and an assortment of pretty winged creatures, birds and insects.
Beaches rock here.  Beaches rock here.
Beaches rock here.

There are four beaches within the park, this being Playa Escondido. The others, while of slightly less interesting geography, were admittedly perfect for swimming; I took advantage of those, for sure. Check out the sky, too.
What would you do if I dug you a hole...What would you do if I dug you a hole...
What would you do if I dug you a hole...

would you stand up and crawl out on me?
Love it.Love it.
Love it.

That´s a pretty banging sunset if you ask me.


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb