Manuel Antonio


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Manuel Antonio is a perfect place to get your fill of both beach and rain forest. It's definitely touristy, but it also maintains that small beach town feel. A little bit of everything...I loved it! We went 3 weekends ago so this entry is coming rather late, but I'll see what I can muster up from my memory.

The bridge over a river leading into Quepos, the town next to Manuel Antonio, was damaged so we were delayed for a few hours while cars went across 1 by 1. We couldn't even walk across the mere 40-foot wide river because the pedestrian bridge was washed away. But we finally got to our hotel, Hotel Verde Mar, and were greeted by crabs in our kitchen sink and shower, and the biggest, brightest green grasshopper I've ever seen on our ceiling. Geckos and other lizards scurried around everywhere outside. When I first came to Costa Rica it always startled me to see them. Now it's just the norm. Nature's all around down here!

After breakfast at an outdoor beach restaurant, my friends Shannon and Rebekah and I left for the park. We had a good 1/2 climb up to a vista that looked out onto the ocean...I think I could have stayed looking at the view for hours. But after our uphill hike we were drenched in sweat (and looked awful) so it was definitely time for the beach. Instead of going to the beach that most people in the park were at, we went to the other side where it was quieter, wondering why more people weren't around. The ocean was a bright emerald green--completely unlike any water I've seen--and sooo refreshing after our hike. There wasn't even rocks and debris in the water so it was perfect for swimming.

Little did we know, a crocodile from the mangrove area of the park had lost its way and was apparently swimming with us. As I was walking out of the water I saw it coming in towards me and seriously FLIPPED. It wasn't nearly close enough to me to attack, but to know that it had been in the water the whole time without us being able to see it since the water was so dark....I think it was just the adrenaline rush.

After my ceviche dinner (raw fish marinated in lime juice with onions and peppers and cilantro...soo good!) we went out to La Barba Roja, a bar with an incredible outdoor deck overlooking the ocean. But the view was probably the best part about the place. It was an early night.

The next day we hiked through the park again but this time to the opposite side. We stopped at a vista overlooking a jungle gorge and again at a little cove where a few of us ran into the water during a downpour. Another adrenaline rush. After a few hours of hiking in the park we went to the main public beach (I can't remember what it's called) to relax for a bit. That didn't last too long for me though...I took my first surfing lesson with a few of the other girls! Man, was it hard! My armpits and pecks have never been so sore as they were the next day. But it was totally worth it, even though I probably stood up on the board for a total of 10 seconds of the hour long lesson....I think I need a few more.

As always, the weekend went by extremely fast and I wished we had had more time there. Who knows, I might just go back.






Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



9th July 2007

Thanks again for the update!
Hey Kara, Exciting tImes in Costa Rica! That croc was pretty big! I'll call you when your camera gets here. Lots of love...Dad
10th July 2007

fabulous!!
Those are definately my kind of views-I am glad you are getting to enjoy them, honey-
15th July 2007

just rode my bike over to your house in thunder and lightening storm...and what do I find Gina cooking...i love it. Can't wait until you come home, i love all your pictures, and your adventures sound so awesome, i wish i could just hop down there. baci..jana

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb