SCUBA


Advertisement
Published: March 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Manta RayManta RayManta Ray

I think it had about a 9 ft wingspan, but everything look bigger and closer underwater so I could be wrong.
Tuesday morning I went diving with Jaime. He is getting his DiveMaster certification as well as taking Spanish classes. It had been almost 4 years since my last dive so I took a refresher course that reviewed some theory and had a practical in a hotel pool. That was actually Wed and Thurs the previous week, but the dive wasn't till Tuesday.

Not a whole lot to say about the dive. It was fun to be underwater again. Visibility was okay, and the swell wasn't too bad. We did two dives, about 45 minutes each, with 45 of surface time between. Max depth on the first dive was 50 ft and for the second 45 ft. I still suck air like a hoover. My tank started with 2900 psi and I finished with 750 psi, meanwhile Jaime started with 3000 psi and finished with 2200 psi.

This was the first time I'd ever taken my camera diving and I'm really glad I did. Because as I was descending for the first dive a huge manta ray came swimming towards us. Twenty seconds later and I would have missed it. I managed to turn my camera on, get one picture, switch it over to video, and record a couple flaps before it was too far off to see. Pretty amazing to see underwater. I'm still a little stunned that my first underwater photo ever was of a (approximately) 9 ft wide manta ray.

Hasta luego!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

A fishA fish
A fish

...that looks like a rock.
Back to the boatBack to the boat
Back to the boat

End of the second dive.


22nd March 2007

Hey guys!
Me again - finally had a couple mins to come check the new posts! I showed a few of them to Lonnie and Bruce the other day - they're old geezers ya know and cant figure this stuff out. (Hope they dont now lol!) Anyway - awesome underwater pics! I dont know if you guys can read these posts we put in here or if you have to wait until you get back - but it was kinda funny...when we were all 3 looking at these pics we couldnt tell who it was lol! You always write with "I" or "me" and we dont know which "me" it is unless you mention the other one lol. Even the diving pic we stared at for awhile trying to figure out who's body it was....Chris is a thin dude - could be either of you lol! Have fun and be safe - see you next time!
23rd March 2007

No Ray Ban For You
Wow! That ray was huge! What an amazing shot. If I saw something that huge next to me, think that there would have been some "warm" water around me, if you know what I mean! :)

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb