mi vida aqui


Advertisement
Published: July 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

entonces.... Let me describe my town of Quepos, Costa Rica. In one word.... drum roll... Can you say Tijuana???????? Mira, I wasn´t really prepared for my trip mentally because I had been staying in decent places since I arrived here in Costa Rica, but when my house sister picked me up and we drove into town with a taxi, I felt like I was a deer in headlights. Acutally, I live on a nice street or shall I say my house is off a paved street (nice). I finally arrived with my sister, Kiara (15yo) to a very clean and tidy house. I met my house mother, Tere, and she was instantly warm. I shared the house with her husband and daughter, grandson, and 2 other students. There is no air conditioning and only cold showers!!!!! At first, that all bothered me. Well, after living alone or having my own bathroom for all these years it was a little shell shocking. In fact, I felt a little overwhelmed and had to go to the internet office to unwind. How ironic, unwind with internet??? when did i get so techy (hardly calling that techy).

so, anyway, it had been so hot here that cool showers were a saving grace and soon loved my fan. My mother serves breakfast at 7am which consists of pinto gallo... rice and beans plus fresh fruit with either eggs or toast. Dinner is served at 630pm. I don´t recall the last time I had a sitdown dinner with everyone on a regular basis. Sorry, Dad, its been a super long time. Anyway, my meals are very tasty, but they do always consist of rice and beans somehow. luckily, i´m fine with that. but, when i get back, i doubt will be craving that for a long time. I´ve had some extremely delicious pineapples and their bananas have a nicer flavor to them than the ones in the US, although, CR is a big exporter of bananas.

The family only speaks Spanish, which is great for me because I speak Spanish the entire time I am with them.

Back to Quepos, the town is actually just fine. The Ticos are really friendly people and there really isn´t anything to worry about. I still walk around at night in at least a pair, but otherwise, its perfectly safe. I did encounter my first petty theft ever. My yellow target bag went ¨missing¨somewhere, but luckily it only had sunscreen and my yosemite hat. oh well. Otherwise, not bad (still have my fingers crossed)

I do have to mention that they sure have a lot of US standard code violations. My all time favorite is my walk from my home to town. Most of us live in barrio boca vieja and we must cross a bridge. Well, I was told that last year someone fell into the river maybe 20 feet below because one the boards were loose. Okay, its one thing to fall 20 feet into a river, but Quepos does not have a sewer system... are ya´ll following my drift? So, imagine that fall!!!!
Well, so they fixed the "loose" board, but the guard rails... hm, shall I say that they are in diamond shapes about 3 feet wide where anyone can fall through the sides. So, watch out for the loose board, no falling through the rails and watch out for the cars that must cross in each direction one at the time. Entonces, pura vida!

It is extremely beautiful here and life is just so simple. These people know a hard life, but they also know what is important to them.

hasta luego



Advertisement



14th July 2005

I miss you
I am happy to hear you're still alive and in good spirits. So I guess taking you out to dinner to Versailles for black beans, buttered rice, and plantanes when you get back would be unpleasant. Heehee. I don't know if you received the e-mail from Dani y Sylivia pero nos estrania vastante. Coincidently, did you crawl across the bridge as I did in Manuel Antonio...Soy un scary Cat. Did I mention I miss you. I hope the remainder of your experience continues to be full of enlightenment and that you make it home soon to your friends and family who I guaranty miss you as I do. Asta luego muchachita.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb