The First Weekend


Advertisement
Published: February 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The first weekend we stayed at El Mirador de Pacifico. We got lucky (I think) and the owner upgraded our room to the “Jungle Villa” because he had a big group that booked all the basic rooms after we made our reservation. If you look around on their website (perhaps in the ‘for sale’ section) I think you can find a floor plan for this room. It’s pretty cool, but not literally. The one little window unit you can see in one of the pictures barely managed to make any noticeable effect on the heat and humidity in the room. So we didn’t get to slowly acclimate ourselves. The first night our travel clock said 88F by the time we went to sleep and it might have gotten down to the upper 70’s by morning. (Nikki says lower 80’s 😊). By the way, how is winter going for you all?

Anyhoo, other than that we really did like the room. Oh wait, Nikki just reminded me of the long *ss walk up the concrete stairs just to get to the room. We didn’t like that with our 70+ lbs of luggage either. But as you can see from the photos we had a really nice view of the area. We also had some visitors our last morning there. Two different species of monkeys were playing outside the villa and they were quite curious when we started taking photos. One little guy would get really close to the window until we came over with the camera. Then he’d race up to the roof, and a few seconds later he’d pop his head down to see if we were still there - which we were with cameras poised.

The one photo that might seem out of place is the one of the shower. There is a little story behind that so I’ll explain. Nikki and I were slightly worried that life might be a bit more rustic than we’d anticipated (no air conditioning anywhere for example) and one of our big questions was whether there would be hot water for showering. Well, that morning I got in the shower and one of the first things I noticed was that the fixture was exactly the same as my shower back in Lees Summit. I got a kick out of that. It was also a bit convenient because I already knew how the shower worked. So I turned the left knob to get the hot water flowing. After 2 minutes the water was still as cold as it was initially. Nikki and I both showered in record time. After we were done and were trying to come to grips with 3 months of cold showers we decided to see how cold the “cold” water was. Turned out it was so hot it almost scalded my foot. (I don’t think Ticos care much about standards). We felt a little stupid for taking a freezing cold shower unnecessarily, but we had a good laugh about it, and then took another shower, this time quite a bit more comfortable and leisurely.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Another MonkeyAnother Monkey
Another Monkey

...or possibly the same monkey again.
A Different Species of Monkey and a SquirrelA Different Species of Monkey and a Squirrel
A Different Species of Monkey and a Squirrel

I think the squirrel is in better focus than the monkeys. But the squirrel looks pretty cool too.


20th February 2007

Monkeys!
They are so cute! I'm sure not so cute when they steal things from you. From what I hear they love to get drunk - set a couple drinks out for em lol. Just making my way thru your blogs and sending it to Sarah...I guess I got way behind! I'm all over it now tho!
20th February 2007

The monkeys are cool and so is the view.

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb