Sunrise


Advertisement
Published: April 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The hostel has once again changed all over again. There is only 1 person from the original crew when I got in last Monday. New groups come and slowly the whole place becomes new again. It is the best place to be, in my opinion; though I will love to be home and have my own space, it is so great to meet so many new people every day. This week down here is by far the biggest holiday for the whole year, Semana Santa. The ticos take their Easter celebrating very seriously and head to the beach immediately for a few days away from the daily grind in San Jose. Town is completely filled to the brim, every place is full, and there are gypsies camping on the beach. You always have to make sure you are aware of your sorroundings when there are a bunch of gypsies around. Stuff disappears very quickly. I met some super cool people from Colorado that drove all the way down and are going to live here now. We had a big night last night, since a lot of people are leaving today, we decided the hostel needed to have a party. Lots of people up til odd hours of the morning, but I retired semi early so I could wake up for dawn patrol. I got up at 5:30 to use the bathroom, when I was spotted by a surfer and called out. It was one of the Colorado guys, and he demanded that I get on up and get in the water. The thought had not even crossed my mind, figured I would sleep for another hour or two. After a cup of coffee and a zigzag I was convinced he was right. We paddled out into some of the best surf I have seen here. Got out to past the break as the sun was first starting to peak over the hills. Within 10 minutes, the tiny bay slowly came to life and the water filled with probably about 20 more surfers. I couldn´t help it, I just started laughing hysterically, not because of something funny, really because I could not fathom a single place I would rather be at that precise second. Overhead waves rolling in, the sun barely above the mountains, and good people to surf with. It was an excellent way to start my day, I think I will have to get up this early every day from now on.
I am so broke now, scrapping by on only the bare essentials. Lots of cheap sandwiches and water. No money for beer, but we get all the extra beer in the hostel when the maid cleans out the fridge twice a week. Yesterday was a big catch-12 beers from the fridges. Who leaves beer behind at a hostel? God bless them. Work is better now, doing a lot more carpentry instead of digging ditches. I have been hand carving and sanding teak poles for the new kitchen we are about to build. Hot as hell the last few days, I have no energy left by the time I get off work. Hope all is well back home, be there in a month, don´t want to even think about leaving right now, I will push that thought into the back of my head...

Advertisement



13th April 2006

so bummed we missed you!
hey brian, now that i´ve been to santa teresa i can picture your blog perfectly. sounds amazing, i´m glad you´re having so much fun. did you get the note i left you at tranquilo? bummer there were no more rooms available and we didn´t get to meet up!! anyway looknig forward to the next blog, our time here is almost up, going home saturday. btw we left a beer in the fridge at frank´s place, haha... glad we could make one of the construction dudes a little happier...

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb