Days 28-30 (Jun 8-10) Rained out in Tortuguero!


Advertisement
Published: June 11th 2018
Edit Blog Post

28-228-228-2

A view of the canals / waterways
Friday morning I headed out early, driving from Puerto Viejo to Moin, near Puerto Limon. Moin also has a seaport and loads up ships with fruit destined for other parts of the world. When I booked my boat tour Thursday evening, the gentleman at the tour centre gave me instructions on how to get to the boat dock, avoiding the main port or he warned I would be going to Europe with the pineapples and bananas!

Friday was a sunny day, perfect for being out on the water. We went through a series of canals that run adjacent to the ocean (probably about 75 km), stopping to see any animals we happened upon during the journey. We mostly saw birds - cormorants, anhingas, pelicans, herons, bitterns, egrets, roseate spoonbills (related to the flamingo!), jacanas, but also saw crocodiles, caimans, howler monkeys, turtles, iguanas, and even a sloth! The trip there took about 4 hours - not a ton of pictures to show for it as I don’t have a camera that is good for long distance wildlife shots!

The village of Tortuguero is very small and isolated - not much to do other than tour the national park, or
28-628-628-6

Lizard!
see turtles on the beach if it’s the right time of year. Unfortunately for me, the rain started soon after I arrived and just didn’t stop!! No tours or wildlife sightings for me! However, when I was still in bed Sunday morning, I was fairly certain I heard the cries of macaws flying overhead, and then even more certain I saw a pair flying over as I was out eating my yogurt breakfast. I followed the cries and was able to see at least 4 great green macaws having their own breakfast up in an almond tree, so that was exciting! I hadn’t expected to see them in this area - will have to report that back to the Ara Project. 😊

I boarded my return boat to Moin Sunday morning at 10:00, and the trip back was much more speedy as we didn’t stop for wildlife - only 2.5 hours and we were back on dry land. You could tell we were approaching the end of our journey when we started seeing cars by the houses instead of just boats.

I set my course for San Jose and arrived about 3 hours later at my accommodations for
28-328-328-3

Crocodile!
the week - a bed and breakfast owned by Barbara (a Tico) & Otto (an Austrian). It’s a lovely home that is close to where Sam lives, so tomorrow we get back to work. Budgeting, working on monthly processes, wrapping things up! My final week in Costa Rica…


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

28-428-4
28-4

Crocodile!
28-528-5
28-5

Roseate spoonbills
28-128-1
28-1

Loading boats in Moin
30-130-1
30-1

Loading boats in Moin - semi truck for size reference
30-230-2
30-2

Lineups of dozens of trucks waiting to offload their Chiquita bananas and Dole bananas...
30-330-3
30-3

So many sea cans...


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb