Day 25 - Caribbean Sunrise & Coffeehouse Trapdoors


Advertisement
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Time to go home.

CUTE!!CUTE!!CUTE!!

Adorable little girl that was on our boat home.
I woke up at 5:00 am to go see the sunrise. It's not often that I get a chance to see the sunrise over an ocean. I had to see how it compared to pacific sunsets. Answer: pretty gorgeous. Check the pictures to decide for yourself. I was spellbound. There's something about a sunrise that is just captivating, in a way that sunsets aren't. I felt it this summer when we would be in our kayaks as the sun came up illuminating Mt. Rainier. It's almost as if Earth were saying, "Today will be a good day. Enjoy it."

I went back to bed, denying my urge to go for a run. I awoke to a breakfast of pancakes and fresh fruit. There were a heckuva lot more people there (in Tortuguero) now. Maybe because it's the weekend and all. When we got here it was basically us and locals. Now there are tourists scurrying everywhere like leaf-cutter ants. It was nice having the town to ourselves before. It feels a little overrun now. Maybe it's because this town is SO small. No roads, no cars, not even motorcycles. Lots of bicycles on the dirt paths. It's really isolated which
Main roadMain roadMain road

This is the main road that goes through town.
is cool. You can walk from one end of town to the other in 10 minutes. That's if you walk slow.

I packed and waited on the dock on the canal for our boat to come to take us home. The boat ride was just as cool the 2nd time and I saw 2 crocodiles. I got a picture of one. Once I got home, I welcomed the mild, wet climate because it had been uber hot and SUPER humid in Tortuguero. Not going to lie, I was sticky and sweaty all the time. I was comforted by the rain back in San Jose. Maybe that's the Seattleite part of me secretly desiring a chilly rain.

Side note for the day: The coffee here is ABSURDLY good. I don't even like coffee. Well, maybe a little. And granted, I'm not a connoisseur of coffee, I'm not that guy that orders a half caff, double tall, non fat, foam, whole milk, double cup, no lid drink that makes a barista want to punch you in the face and then quit. By the way, I can't stand those people - especially if they are close to me in line. Shut
SunSunSun

Here's the sequence of the sun rising. So pretty.
up. You don't sound cool. Say, "Can I please have a vanilla latte?" Done. I'm going to open a coffee shop where there is a trapdoor right in front of the counter/register and when someone orders like that, WHOOOP, there they go down the trapdoor into a room that where Bas Ruten is waiting. Don't know who Bas Ruten is? My roommate here introduced me. See this.
. They will never order like that again. ANYHOW, the coffee is amazing here. It tastes like a smile. Yea, think about how that would be.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Turtle!Turtle!
Turtle!

This is basically a representation of the turtles we saw. To scale too.
RandomRandom
Random

Random rusted machinery parts are the town's decoration.
Going homeGoing home
Going home

Bye Tortuguero, thanks for the memories.
BarBar
Bar

That's one of the two bars within 25 miles.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb