Jo's Birthday Parade....Two horses, a foal, a dog and a bicycle.


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Limón » Cahuita
August 21st 2007
Published: August 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Birthday funBirthday funBirthday fun

Our little cabina
So we arrived in Cahuita ok which is a small town on the Carribbean coast of Costa Rica. Pretty chilled out place, which a distinstly caribbean feeling to it. We fould a cute Cabana to stay in, which ticked all the boxes for a birthday treat.... places to hang clothes (the first time so far), nice bathroom, place to hang mozzie net, full lengh mirror. The works.

We spent the first day checking the town out and making birthday arrangements, and Trev kept disappearing off on mystery missions.

I wasnt much looking forward to my birthday, it has of course tipped the balance to being closer to 30 than 20, and I was sad at being away from home and not receiving the usual pile of cards from friends and family. I had one card which I had carried with me since day one (thanks Debs) which I was very excited about opening. I was delighted, and a little confused however when Trev appeared on my birthday morning with a huge pile of cards for me. Each one contained your email messages which he had printed out and stuck into the cards! I have never received so many Spanish
Birthday funBirthday funBirthday fun

All the Spanish birthday cards!
birthday cards! It was hilarious, and a bit emotional so there were a few tears of joy/laughter.

The next treat was yet to come...

We had arranged a two hour horse ride along the beach and in the jungle (I tried to get out of that bit but wasn't able to!), and we decided that rather put poor Trev on a horse, he was to accoimpany me on a bicycle! So everyone was happy. We were about to set off, when it looked like a foal was about to escape from the field we had left, but the guide assured me it was ok. Turned out the foal belonged to my horse, and it follwed us for the entire treck! As did the farm dog. So I am sure we looked like an amusing site, cantering along the beach with 2 horses, a foal, a dog and Trev trying to keep up on a bike. It was a very bizarre moment.

Trev couldn't keep up with my fast galloping so left us to go for what seemed like ages along the beautiful beach. It was just amazing. Then I was led (AGAIN) into the bloody jungle. It
Birthday funBirthday funBirthday fun

A bizarre ensemble
wasn't so bad as I wasnt on foot, I just had to duck each time I saw a web. We stopped and my guide dismounted, and I wasn't sure what was going on. He then whipped out a machete (getting a little worried at this point), and then got us a coconut each for refreshment!!! The jungle was so dense in parts he was hacking occasional branches with his machete so we could pass. What was pretty cool was that we saw 2 spider minkeys hanging in the tree, and heard the now familiar cry of the howler monkey.

Eventually we arrived back on the beach near the farm, by which time Trev found us again and I am sure the site of us all speeding along the beach again amused some passing tourists.

The afternnoon involved a siesta, which i think all birthdays should, followed by pink wine and ferrero roche. My favourites. We then had a nice meal and some cocktails, mine was a 'Banana Momo' dad!

All in all, had a fab birthday, probably one I shall remember for the rest of my life. Thanks so much for all you messages, that was one
Birthday funBirthday funBirthday fun

Pink wine in the little hut we found at the end of the garden
of the best bits!

Jo xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb