The Orchid Lodge has sold


Advertisement
Published: May 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I just edited this, sorry I was a couple of weeks behind. I will post tomorrow explaining to all why I have sold.
Thank you all for your interest and kind words.
Matt

Advertisement



1st September 2008

Why?
Why are you selling the lodge???
1st September 2008

Serious?
We are watching you on tv right now... We can't believe you are selling it. It seems like the Costa Rican dream... WOW!!! Amazing experience. What was the deal with the Citrus Grove? The water features? Thanks for writing back.
1st September 2008

HGTV
I just watched your search for this beautiful place on HGTV. You both did a wonderful job in creating and updating the space. The photos posted here are fabulous. Best wishes on your sale!
1st September 2008

your web site
My wife and I just saw you on house hunters. Your web site is not funtional, so I'm not sure how you plan on selling your business. Good luck to all three of you.
1st September 2008

Website
The website is working. www.theorchidlodge.com
1st September 2008

Go go at it
Hey, You both need to keep your heads up high. You did what most people only dream about. I watched your house hunting experience with my wife but only after she made me. GOOD luck in all you do. I have leaved in other countries and it is not easy. There is no place like the U.S.A.
1st September 2008

Was interested in visiting your B & B in the future
Just saw this on HGTV and logged on to find out about your rates. So surprised you are selling. Are you coming back to the states and start another?
1st September 2008

Did ou ale the Inn?
1st September 2008

Sorry you're selling!
I absolutely LOVED the just aired HGTV show of your Costa Rican experience. The only thing I kept thinking, having 2 boys (now grown) of my own, is how to handle the pressure of a 24/7 business and 2 children. No time for yourselves, let alone a vacation...But, I look at it this way, you have lived a dream that some of us are too chicken to exprience, myself included, G-d Bless you and your family and wherever the world takes you next!
1st September 2008

Sounds like a book in your future
Like the others, we just finished watching House Hunters and wanted to find out more. Was glad to find Matt's very well-written blog, but were intrigued by the cryptic last entry and the server being down. There must be a story here, somewhere, and I bet Matt could write it. Hope you'll let us all know what happened and how everything turns out. You've got a fan club, now!
1st September 2008

sorry to hear you're selling
Just saw you on TV and looked you up. Sorry to hear that it didn't work out...all the best to you and your family!
1st September 2008

We need to know.
We need to know the circumstances:) I don’t want to seem nosy but how can we only know half the story. How did the dream of so many break down? We watched your show and were ready to throw the towel at the American dream. (The dream that keeps taking but sadly shares its wealth sparingly.) I hope that you and your beautiful family find yourself well. Hope to hear your story.
1st September 2008

you sold?
just saw you on TV late last night. kosher in CR. wouldn't have to use Chabad. Wife and I found it fascinating. Wanted to know more and found your web site only to learn you're leaving. Well, good luck in whatever you do. Keep the dream alive.
2nd September 2008

why!
why did you sell? homesick? someone is sick? Divorce?
3rd September 2008

I sure hope the new owners have the pride in the Orchid Lodge that you two seemed to have
I loved your story on House Hunters... as my new husband and I had just come back from CR and absolutely loved it there! I'd assume you are selling to move back to the States.... and to be near family. Also running a B and B anywhere is a 24/7 operation. I've never owned one but frequent them often and I'm sure your move there for an easier life didn't happen. I hope to visit your former lodge next year when we return but hope the new owners are dedicated as it seems you two were! Please let us know why you sold when you get the opportunity to write again! The best to you and your familia.....
23rd October 2009

How did you get on hgtv? Why are you selling such a beautiful place especially with all the interest of possible reservations after the show aired?
23rd October 2009

why
hey i just watched you on hdtv whi are you selling the place it looks beautiful
23rd October 2009

Good luck and keep the faith!
Your journey on HGTV was very motivational. After reading all of the other comments I realize that many others agree. I logged onto to find out more about your B&B. I was surprised to hear that you were selling because I looked forward to a vacation and meeting you guys. Job well done. Whatever the reason I wish you and your family peace and prospeity in your future endeavors. The end of one journey opens the opportunity for another. Just a llittle food for thought. Good Luck! Trudy
19th December 2009

House Hunters
CAN'T BELIEVE YOU GUYS ARE SELLING, THE HOUSE IS GREAT, AND I JUST VIEWED COMMENTS ABOUT PEOPLE WHO VISITED THE LODGE AND THEY LOVED IT. I WOULD RECOMMEND KEEPING IT OR OPENING UP ANOTHER WHERE EVER YOU DECIDE TO GO.
19th December 2009

Saw the HGTV house hunters
Just saw a repeat of the HGTV House Hunters. Sorry to hear that you sold your dream B&B. Best wishes to you, your wife and baby.
18th January 2010

aww i was hoping to visit
2nd May 2010

Bed/B/ why was sold?
My husband and I was looking forward staying in your B/B we wanted to stay there for vacation The Orchid Lodge why did you sold it? do you own other bed/b ?
2nd May 2010

The Orchid Lodge in Costa Rica
Hi, sorry to hear you sold the Lodge my husband and I was planning a vacation in Costa Rica and we wanted to stay there and enjoy our vacation there and meeting you wonderful family you may your dream come true buying the lodge and making into a inn bed/beakfast in Costa Rica we wish you and your family all the best God bless you and family! the owner that bought the place The Orchid Lodge in Costa Rica what date bed and beakfast open? have a wonderful life and God Bless. From:Elzabeth Galante
1st July 2010

Good Luck
My husband and I always wanted to visit Costa Rica. When we saw the show we both said, "Nice couple, I bet if we stayed there it would be a great vacation." Sorry you sold. Good Luck.
23rd September 2010

I so wanted to come stay at your Orchid Lodge
Hello Matt ~ I couldn't wait to go check out your website after seeing you on House Hunters for the second time. I'm sad to see you decided to sell and can't help but wonder why? Hubby and I are considering relocating after he retires, never having to shovel snow again is a majour consideration. lol Our son Zane has been to Costa Rica and fell in love with it, that got us thinking of it as a future destination. : ) I hope life is treating you kindly and things have settled down for you. Blessings & Joyous Howls, Camille Christie-Barber
24th September 2010

???
I just saw the travel channel's international home buyers, and it featured a young couple buying a home for conversion to a bed and breakfast...is this the one featured here? Did it sell again? How owns it now? Why was it sold? I was so impressed by the B & B, I wanted to book a vacation there! Please let me know what has happened.
17th November 2010

Sold?
Why did you sell the lodge? You three had such a happy story, I thought this was your dream. Who did you sell too?
10th March 2011

I am from Costa Rica. I was planning on going to your place with my fiance. Was is culture shock type situation? I've lived in other countries and it takes a lot of compromise. Good luck to all of you. Victoria Carpio-Walker

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb