Zip-a-dee-doo- DAHHHHHHH!


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Heredia
December 13th 2006
Published: December 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

For our last big adventure before heading back to the US, we zipped through the canopy suspended from steel cables strung between 8-foot-square platforms in the rainforest. Sound crazy? We were pleasantly surprised by the well-maintained facility, the professional and thorough staff, and the safety procedures followed. And we had a great time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Putting on a brave facePutting on a brave face
Putting on a brave face

Here's Mark just before his first zip...Sure, he looks happy but inside he's FREAKING OUT! (OK, maybe not, but it's a possibility!)
Getting a pushGetting a push
Getting a push

Ari has no fear...and since he's small on some of the less steep ziplines they had to give him a little push to get him going.
Ellie...giggling all the wayEllie...giggling all the way
Ellie...giggling all the way

All I could hear as Ellie came down the line was her giggling...from the first zipline to the last, she had a ball. And Kaynor, our guide, was great.
Yee haw!!Yee haw!!
Yee haw!!

It was a great feeling flying through the canopy. There actually was time to look around and see the bromeliads and orchids growing in the tops of the trees and to see the river running by. It was really beautiful.
Ari flying through the rainforestAri flying through the rainforest
Ari flying through the rainforest

When asked a few weeks ago what would be the one thing he'd like to do before we left Costa Rica, Ari said, "Go ziplining again!"...And we're glad he did. We all had a ball.
Even Mom did it...Even Mom did it...
Even Mom did it...

I figured I couldn't go back to the US and tell people that my 5 year old daughter went ziplining and I stood on the sidelines...so I strapped on the harness and took the plunge. It really wasn't as scary as I thought it would be...no stomach up in your throat feelings or anything like that...
We survived!We survived!
We survived!

And we don't look THAT shell-shocked, right?


13th December 2006

Great ride, huh?
Are we still on for Friday?
13th December 2006

Good thing Nana Bortman wasn't there.
19th December 2006

Yee-Haw!
What a grand adventure you've all had, from the start to the finish. I've loved receiving all the blogs and living vicariously through the entire journey. Also, I really loved the ziplining. What a blast! An experience that few would ever have. Mark and Dara, you two look great...and the kids have grown so much in the past year. I'm happy that you were adventurous enough to spend this time in Costa Rica. Again, few would have been game enough to do what you've done. I can only imagine how the children's lives (and yours) have been enhanced. I'd love to see you soon. Happy traveling. Love, Cuz Bev
2nd January 2007

moving to heredia - would love advice
Hi, I found your blog and am so interested in your experience. My daughter and I are moving to Heredia in a month. I will be teaching 2nd grade at Golden Valley and while I am excited, nervousness is getting the better of me. I would love to hear from you. Please email if you get the chance. azaleamayo@hotmail.com. Thanks so much. Azalea

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb