My needles arrived!


Advertisement
Published: February 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We went through a bit of deceit to get them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Almost too good to be true!Almost too good to be true!
Almost too good to be true!

I was preparing for the unfortunate outcome of my needles never arriving or arriving after I left, and no one knowing what to do with the stuff in the box. So was madly trying to download videos on felting to keep for the women to watch whenever needed. I had already cancelled Friday's class because of not having them, so Jennifer called everyone back to say the needles came in after all.
How to get mail in C.R.How to get mail in C.R.
How to get mail in C.R.

Why, forge identification, of course!! After Gerardo called and was told there was no parcel for me, I jumped when Joanna said she was going in to Puerto to do some banking Thurs afternoon. I got receptionist Jennifer in on the ploy, having her print a copy of my ID card from here at the Learning Centre, with my initial L. added, and Joanna's face inserted. Worked! When the rotund postal worker claimed there was nothing, Joanna looked around the corner and saw my parcel - I had given her a description obtained from the seller. So, the worker demanded ID and presto! It worked. Joanna looks every bit the Spanish-speaking Puerto Rican she is, so that made it all the funnier.
Lunch TimeLunch Time
Lunch Time

We are called for hot lunch every day, prepared by the wonderful Hilde (pronounced IL-deh) who is now making meals every day instead of us!! HHHOOOOORRRRAAAYYY. That's her little grand daughter Maria with her.
And a look from the other endAnd a look from the other end
And a look from the other end

Fortunately most folks kept right at the business at hand, eating!!! I prefer "action shots" to posed ones.
Caught himCaught him
Caught him

Hilde (pronounced ildah) picked up the little fellow who was getting all nervous and jumpy behind the door where he'd get squished
I've been 2-timing on CharlieI've been 2-timing on Charlie
I've been 2-timing on Charlie

This little pup showed up Thurs and has been hanging around the Learning Centre. I asked Minerva if she'd be interested and she is! What a gentle little thing she is. I am bringing her home today (Sunday) when I finish fiddling on the computer here.
We got right to itWe got right to it
We got right to it

A bunch of the women came in to see the new needles and get to work! We only have one class left before I go.
They really had funThey really had fun
They really had fun

Emilsie, on the right, also makes beautiful wrist bracelets which I am buying to take home for the kids of the family.
Hilde did thisHilde did this
Hilde did this

getting the knack of the needles quickly. I'm so glad they are already arty - NO WAY could I have taught them how to make neat edges!
Emilsie did the small flower firstEmilsie did the small flower first
Emilsie did the small flower first

with no pattern, then used one of my downloaded "patrones" to do the butterfly.
Zayeda loves bright coloursZayeda loves bright colours
Zayeda loves bright colours

and she wanted to make her kitchen as colourful as she is. And her clothes are bright as well.
I have this ladies' name I have this ladies' name
I have this ladies' name

written down somewhere. She comes in with Zayeda so they must live close together.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb