Back for a visit to Travelblog


Advertisement
Published: January 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Swimming on the SarapiquiSwimming on the SarapiquiSwimming on the Sarapiqui

This river is known for whitewater rafting. It courses behind Minerva's property and past the Learning Centre and past. Easily viewable on Google maps. Jackie on the left is a friend of Wilma's from San Jose, Wilma and that's me showing off my sexy Keens. (that's a clunky solid type of sandal. )
One week already at the Sarapiqui Coservation Learning Centre (save me alot of explainin' - go to the site http://www.learningcentercostarica.org/) and it's nothing but fun, A.L> style.

I am staying at Minerva's house; she has a 24 yr old son Vladimir (I asked, por que the Russian name? She just shrugs. ) and 6 older children. Son Alberto and his wife Wilma and their daughter Nahomi were at Minerva's when I arrived. School holidays began last week for the children, and they were in from San Jose for the weekend. They have considerably more English than I have Spanish

It was a long trip, departing at 6:30 am from Toronto and finally putting my head down on the pillow at 10 pm. Costa Rican coffee in the morning, not hard to take.

There are 7 volunteers here altogether, now all arrived. All American except for me, and one other Mature Voman, like me. Actually I tell everyone I am 29 - I say (sp??) vente y nueve and for some peculiar reason everyone cracks up.

????

We have been for one quick hike through the Selva Verde rainforest conservation area adjacent to the learning centre. That
Cow Pasture, Costa Rican styleCow Pasture, Costa Rican styleCow Pasture, Costa Rican style

I was told her name but can't remember. She supplies Minerva with a good amount of milk which Minerva keeps in a large glass container. She adds culture to it and it becomes a soupy sort of yogurt. We add it to beans and rice - aids digestion. I still take acidophilus now and then.
was on Thurs. when it was still overcast after a week of pretty well continuous downpour save Saturday. I don't care, it's all very interesting. Gerardo (g is pronounced as H) the director is a botanist and has lots to teach me as I prepare a flower bed for medicinal herb plants only. I will be making signs for them too.

I am dashing out here shortly, a fellow who works at one of the whitewater rafting places is taking the voluteers for a free ride, only tips. I am going to take a few pix, not go on the ride. I am stiff from waking repeatedly, having forgotten my help-me-sleep pill lastnight.

A.L.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Minerva's KitchenMinerva's Kitchen
Minerva's Kitchen

Took this Saturday morning. Minerva is short with something pink on, and curly hair. Everyone is making late breakfast, which included wheat tortillas that morning, and spicy sausages, rice and beans. Yum.
One corner of my roomOne corner of my room
One corner of my room

Because of the continuous dampness, clothing is kept on shelves. I have a bunch of dryer sheets in with my clothing in the suitcase as well. The window is open, no screen behind the curtain. Just fat bars to keep out thieves. I put a padlock on my door when I leave, and there is a hook on the inside to put the lock in at night.


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb