Rain Rain Go Away


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Heredia » Heredia
November 7th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hola!

I know it's been a while since I've blogged, but I've been slammed with homework and kept forgetting to upload a new "hello". =)

Starting from where I left off, the next weekend I went to San Jose with Miriam to check out the sights. It was definitely different from Heredia. Lots more people, different foods, great shops, etc. I saw the 1st Hotel of Costa Rica and the National Theater. Both were absolutely gorgeous! We walked down the main boulevard passing tons of restaurants, museums, artists and performers in the street...it was a blast! We ended up at this giant tent on one street full of great vendors. This was the one place I managed to spot a few other tourists! (I could tell from the blonde hair and rough spanish speaking) After a great day in San Jose Miriam and I returned to Heredia to prepare "arroz con pollo", a traditional Costa Rican dish. It was DELICIOUS!! and so easy to make!

The next week of classes flew by. Before I knew it it was Friday again and Miriam was teaching me how to make a dessert that her friend taught her. It was a pudding type dessert, but with coffee liquor! mmmm another delicious treat to prepare when I arrive back home to Tampa! =) This weekend, I was invited by my dance instructor to attend a dance performance at the National University. What a blast! It was a group called "Querube" and they travel the country performing each week. They performed salsa, tango, meringue, reggaeton and many other types of Spanish dance! I loved it!

And that leads us to this most decent week...all I can say is TONS OF RAIN! It rained for 3 days straight...all day, all night. I'm not sure if it made the world news, but Costa Rica is going through an extremely rough time right now due to the rain. Costa Rica is a very small and narrow country with a strip of mountains right in the middle of the country. When it rains, the mountain sides start to fall which is exactly what is happening right now. The towns in the South are completely flooded and I can't even count how many homes have been destroyed. Over 30 people have died this past week all due to the rain. It's unbelievable. Heredia itself is fine because we are in the city.

On a happier note, Friday night was a blast! Miriam and I went to a Mexican restaurant at the mall for some yummy food and margaritas! AMAZING! and to top it off a Mariachi band came to perform! =) It was a blast. Saturday night I went with Miriam to her son's house for a bbq. Yet again a successful evening! My spanish is getting very good...in my opinion. I'm a lot for fluid when I speak and I can now keep up with everyone on a normal speaking pace. =) crazy right? It's amazing to me that in just a month and a half I can speak!

I can't wait to fill you in on my next weekend adventure. I am going to Samara Beach with Tom for the weekend. Hopefully there's lots of sun! I need it! Until next time!

Pura Vida!



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb