Arriving in Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: September 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Arrival in Tamarindo:

Upon landing in Liberia after a very comfortable 3 hour ride from Miami (our 200 seat plane had 30 passengers, so I took row 9 to myself and sprawled out for the majority of the flight) I was disappointed not to be greeted by a name-placard-wielding Tico. However after using a taxi driver’s cell phone to call my school I was told to take a cab and the school would foot the bill. After an hour of moderate driving (compared to Cairo nothing will ever seem bad, however Costa Rica is a bit scarier than driving in the United States) I arrived to my school in Playa Tamarindo. I was greeted by friendly staff and shown to my room, the bottom bunk in a 3 person room, which shares a bathroom and kitchen/living space with an identical room. We are located in the heart of the school grounds, with our front door opening up to the common gathering place.

I was told it is the offseason as there are only about 5 other students here as of tonight. 3 of whom are gone for the weekend visiting Guatemala. Once again I find myself on the young end of the spectrum but I don’t think it will matter much. The first “friend” I have made is Brazos, an American from Texas who rode his motorcycle down here in late June/ Early July and has been here ever since. He works part time for the school and gets free lodging and classes as compensation. I also met some girls, Katie, Johanna from Colorado, and California respectively. They have been here for 5+ weeks and seem to love it. Apparently there are at least 3 Germans here as well, but they are out of town for the weekend. It is a complicated setting with some students living on the grounds (like myself), some living on their own in hostels or hotels, and some living with host families.

The internet works sparingly, as I write this, I’m drafting in Word since the network went down 10 minutes after I got online. It doesn’t help that it is pouring out. I am looking forward to exploring the town tomorrow and getting my bearings. I’m not sure if I want to rent a surfboard or not as they are pricey and I am only here for a week, but what else
DSC04100DSC04100DSC04100

The door to my unit
do I have to do in the afternoons? I’m thinking I will surf a lot in Playa Flamingo.

I hope to get my camera out once the weather gets nicer and to post some pictures of the grounds, the town, and eventually the beach. Adios amigo, hasta luego.



Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

DSC04104DSC04104
DSC04104

Mi escuela


Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 63; dbt: 0.107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb