Getting from Santa Teresa to Samara by Bus


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Guanacaste » Samara
February 26th 2015
Published: February 26th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Ok this is my first entry and I hope you find this information useful as I was looking for this information allover the place before I began my Journey.

Santa Teresa and Samara are not really far apart so if you got a car great, but for some budget traveller, like myself a $70 car a day or a $50 shuttle is not an option. So we imbarced on this journey at around 11:30 in Santa Teresa. The Bus leaves Santa Teresa at 11:40 but this varies from where you get on. We got on at Playa del Carmen at 12:15 towards Cobano. In Cobano another bus waits for you to get to Paquera, where you take the Ferry at 2. If you get the 5 p.m. Ferry it will be very tight so get at least the 2p.m.

The Ferry will drop you off in Puntarenas at around 15:45 from there you need to get a Bus to cruze de Barrancas, either my bus or taxi.(taxi drivers might tell you that there are no late Buses to Samara but there are) in Barrancas ask locals when the next bus to Nicoya comes, not sure the exact times. Jump on that one and you will maybe be asked to change bus at an intersection. Once in Nicoya there is a Bus to Samara at the same station you get droped off At 6:30 and 8:00p.m. that bus takes about another hour and a half. The bus is full of students and has a great vibe.

Maybe book a Hotel in advance when arriving late, my suggestion is Hostel Camp Supertrap about a 1km out of town. Has a great atmospher, only dorm rooms starting at $12.

Overall it took us 9 hours and 17 dollars each. If you want to experience local I recommed this trip and have a time on your site.

Maybe you can leave a little earlier than we did thats my only recommendation😊



Happy travels

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb