Day 23 (Jun 3) Tamarindo to Volcano Miravalles


Advertisement
Published: June 4th 2018
Edit Blog Post

23-123-123-1

Immaculate Church of Concepcion de Maria in Liberia
After a very typical Costa Rican breakfast of eggs with rice and beans + some fruit and a little extra time on the beach, I headed north east from Tamarindo towards Liberia, one of Costa Rica’s larger centres. I’m happy to report that my trip did not include ANY gravel roads! One of the first places I noticed as I was driving into town was a Wal-Mart, followed by McDonalds, Taco Bell, KFC, Burger King, Subway…I must say I was a bit tempted to go for the familiarity of a chocolate milkshake, but when traveling, we try to avoid anything we could do/eat back home. So instead I opted for a fruit smoothie from a small stand as I walked around the town square and downtown area. I visited a church while there, one of the only real landmarks or sights to check out in Liberia.

Afterwards, I continued my journey east towards the Volcano Miravalles. I stopped in the small town of Guayabo for a late lunch and a little break before checking into my hotel for the night, a rural hotel with individual cabins. There are a lot of hot springs and thermal pools in this area, and
23-523-523-5

My cozy cottage for the night, comes with hammock!
this hotel had some on site that you could use for free…a nice perk! So I spent my afternoon in the pools with a full view of the volcano, followed by some time in my hammock, reading and watching the birds!

Beautiful area, great relaxing Sunday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

23-223-2
23-2

Immaculate Church of Concepcion de Maria in Liberia
23-323-3
23-3

Immaculate Church of Concepcion de Maria in Liberia
23-423-4
23-4

Immaculate Church of Concepcion de Maria in Liberia
23-623-6
23-6

Thermal pools at the hotel
23-723-7
23-7

Thermal pools at the hotel
23-823-8
23-8

A view of the Volcano Miravalles from the pools


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb