Happy, Happy Country


Advertisement
Published: July 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Living in Costa Rica these five years I have learned much about myself, other people and the similarities and differences in cultures. Recently there was a survey posted on CNN announcing Costa Rica as the happiest country in the world. This was based on general contentment, life expectancy and ecological footprint. While there are areas which could use improvement, I generally agree with this.



In these years, I have seen people working hard at construction or standing on steep mountain sides picking coffee, all the while singing and sometimes in unison. I have attended a birthday party for a gentleman who is 101 years old and still going strong. People here are extremely polite and friendly. Where else does everyone who gets off the public bus, thank the driver as they descend the steps and the bus driver replies, “Con mucho gusto”, which means, it was my pleasure. And where else do the people give up their seat on the public bus so an elderly person may sit down. The same gesture is given to pregnant women or ones with small children.



People here remember your name, even if you are not close friends and if they haven’t seen you in months. I was in a restaurant a couple of nights ago and the owner and cook, Aida came running announcing our names, greeted us with a kiss, asking where we had been these past months. As someone once said if someone came to your house to tell you it was burning, they would ask how you and your family were first. A friend here once met my mother four years ago and every time I see him he still asks about her.



Yes, Costa Rica is a happy country and I am happy to call it my adopted country.



Ray Reynolds


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb