School Days, School Days, Dear Old Golden Rule Days


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Cartago » Cartago
December 1st 2008
Published: December 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

No they're not sleeping.No they're not sleeping.No they're not sleeping.

We're playing Heads Up, Seven Up.
After going through all of my blogs I was disappointed to see that I had not written much about my experience at Sistema Educativo Saint Clare and I apologize. It is, after all, the reason I came here and has been just as much an adventure as surfing in Nicaragua or eating the innards of a cow.

My student teaching experience in Costa Rica has been amazing and I don’t think I could have asked for a better cooperating teacher or group of students. The staff at school was patient and welcoming. The school community feels much more like a family here than what I have experienced in the United States.

It is impossible for me to tell you everything about my time in school so I will post some pictures that I have taken over the semester. I can’t say how much I enjoyed my 8th graders and I look forward to coming back in a few years to see how they have changed. While I was here I taught two units dealing with the human body. We covered the digestive and circulatory systems and did a short activity with DNA. The resources that I had were not ideal but we made it work. The students seemed to have fun and I think learned quite a bit. On our last day of class, all three sections of the 8th grade surprised me with separate parties with food and gifts. I was speechless. It was incredibly thoughtful of them and was a great way to end the school year.

Well it is my last day here in Tres Rios and I definitely have mixed emotions. I have been counting the days to my departure date this last week but I know I will miss it here. The people have been wonderful and I have made many so many friends that I think will last a lifetime. I’m not sure how but I know that my stay in Costa Rica has definitely changed me a little bit. I don’t think anyone can live and experience another culture for an extended period of time without having it change them in some way. I am forever grateful to all of the people who helped me while I was here and to those of you back home who have supported me. I look forward to coming home and seeing all of your bright and shiny (untanned) faces.

Until I see you, be well.

-Nick



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

What is that?What is that?
What is that?

Ahh the fun that can be had with corn starch, water, and food coloring.
8th Grade Tree Project8th Grade Tree Project
8th Grade Tree Project

The students each made a leaf with some sort of environmental image on it. We then put them on this tree painted by some of the students.


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb