Bites Bites & More Bites


Advertisement
Published: December 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We caught a bus to San Ignacio from the zoo, I think it was about an hour and a half ride maybe longer. As we headed west the terane began to change and hills and then mountains appeared. It was gorgeous. We got some tacos right away since we hadn't eaten much all day. They were good but they put strange things in them like cucumber which I don't like. A guy named Rudy had approached us about a deal at a hotel that we could only get for the price he told us if we went with him. It would be $10 US each with a private bathroom which sounded nice. We took him up on his offer and got the most spacious room we have had so far and a private bathroom for the first time. The room should be nice but there is a strange smell in the bathroom that dives me insane. The mattress is terrible, you can feel the springs. That being said it has an amazing view and free wifi. We ran into a couple of girls from the Northwest that we met at the airport and then saw on the island. Their room was right next to ours, totally crazy to run into them yet again! After doing laundry and taking a brief nap we went to dinner with them where I got my first pinacolada since in Belize, it tastes so much different than in the states. Less sweet and more like coconut. After dinner we walked to a bar that Rudy was supposed to be playing live music at. It was a bit of a walk but we found it. It was kinda of a cool set up with a large portion of the bar on the rooftop but Rudy's "live music" wasn't so swell. We didn't stay long but I did order the Obama which had white and dark rum, orange juice and lime juice, I was quite amused by the name and description. On the way back we were looking for Katy's watch which she had lost. We were all chatting and before we knew it we were totally lost. We tried to find our way back on our own going thru some questionable streets. We asked people for directions but our hotel was new and no one knew where it was. We finally found our way back after a tip as to where downtown was. We must have walked miles. Thankfully no one saw fit to jump us. I think the people of Belize are extremely nice but San Ignacio has a bit of a different feel to it if you ask me. There are more Latino people than black people, it is the opposite in Belize City and the island and frankly I'm not as comfortable here. The Rastafarians are positive, kind, funny and I just really like them, I'm saddened that there aren't as many here. This morning we met our fellow north westerners to go see the local Maya ruins. It was nice just being able to roam around them, there weren't a million people or a tour guide holding your hand. Our friends headed out after that and we went swimming in the river which was quite clear and not deep. It was a welcome relief to my bites. Stupidly I have no calamine lotion and tiger balm, and other cremes do nothing for me. What bothers me the most is I know they aren't all mosquito bites and I suppose I'm worried about what they might be. Worrying doesn't change things though so I'm gonna try to chill out. I just want to shed my skin, it's driving me nuts.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb