First day back in Belize


Advertisement
Published: May 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After 9 months of waiting, I have returned to Belize. I'm so happy to be back here. As soon as I stepped off the plane, I felt overwhelmingly happy. Last year was my first year working for the Belize Valley Archaeological Reconnaissance Project. Even though Belize was foreign to anything I knew, I felt welcomed. Now after getting settled into my house in San Ignaico for the second time, I feel a sense of home. After relaxing for a minute, I walked down to the main street and immediately ran into familiar, smiling faces. Becoming re-acquainted with this town and its populace is exciting. Already I have met a childhood friend of the project's director and had a pleasant conversation over a slice of pizza at my favorite bar, Greedy's (if you ever come to San Ignacio, the food here is delicious and the happy hour is great).

I am ready to get back to work at the ancient Maya site of Cahal Pech, however there is pleanty to be done before the project begins on Monday. The students and other staff will arrive over the weekend. I always enjoy seeing the excited faces of new students. They travel down here with stars in their eyes and dreams of discovering the next ancient marvel (a dream I still have to this day haha).

Today, there isn't much to write on. For now, my enthusiasum will have to do 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb