solo travel in Belize


Advertisement
Published: December 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Travel in Belize was a pleasant surprise. As a former British colony, English abounds (which for this mono-language individual is a blessing).
I started out my trip by flying into Belize City, catching a taxi to the water taxi area and off to Caye Caulker.

The trip from the airport is a flat $25 US. The water taxi runs $20 US for a round trip ticket.

I pre-booked my accommodations on Caye Caulker at The Tropics and paid about $45 a night for a private bungalow. There are many options for accommodations on the island and I'm not sure that pre booking is ever a problem. Prices range from $10 - $100 a night. There is a delightful backpacker's hotel - Tina's/Yuma that I would definitely consider for a return trip.

Likewise, booking excursions is easily done once you reach the island and cheaper than pre-booking or going through your hotel. I did a half day snorkeling trip with Mario's Tours and had a great time. We saw a lot of things on the guided portion on the reef, swam with the sting rays and nurse sharks and then concluded with a free snorkel at another part of the reef.

Caye Caulker was a very good decision for me. I like quiet islands - not the party atmosphere. There was great food at an affordable price, friendly people and a beautiful atmosphere.

On to San Ignacio...




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb