Caye Caulker (quay corker)....Updated


Advertisement
Published: May 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Caye Caulker (quay corker), Belize. Ahhhhh, sandy islands, palm trees, 85degC, blue skies...a rest at last! We arrived by sea taxi from Belize City on Tuesday, I was feeling sooooo dodgy with a combination of dehydration and too much sun but it was so nice to finish the long haul trip across Guatemala to Belize which meant two night stops from Palenque to Flores (Guatemala) to see more Mayan Ruins and then Belize City, all of that in insanely hot cramped buses with all trips 5hrs+ over bad bad roads kinda took it's toll on us.

First of all I have to say the people and culture here is FANTASTIC!! Every single local person bursts with smiles and a wonderfully laid back attitude, you barely pass a person as you meander down the sandy tracks whom doesn't exchange a pleasantry with you often with a jokey comment to go with it! All the non-locals therefore follow suit, I find myself randomly chatting to people in the street, no one avoids eye-contact, it really is wonderful!

Thought of the Day. Banish all people whom are racist towards to black people to Belize, here they will be rehabilitated by the constant warmth of the people here which is even more intense than the searing sun. Jah will see them on a better road to salvation!
What I learned today. The Belize Saunter. One just can not race around this sweltering, sandy quiet island, I've found my long limbs becoming slacker, my gait becoming slower and I am in no hurry to be anywhere....chill Mon!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



11th June 2007

Snipe is that your arm around Paris? Who cares about the boating and stuff you should write more about the ladies your meeting! Oh and don't forget to check the dip stick while your travelling :)
12th June 2007

PartyMarty! So you are alive and kicking then?! Yes, it is Paris, she violated parole to join me on my...er....yacht.

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb