The airconditioning has exploded! Blasted out the whole house's electricity!


Advertisement
Asia
November 27th 2014
Published: November 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Last night, don't know why, but I was kind hot, so I turned on the air conditioner. An hour or so later, I hear a big explosion, and from inside the AC, a big fire ball pops out! I didn't know it was the 4th of July already!

Needless to say, it did kind freak me out. As a result of the explosion, all the lights in the house went out. It was midnight, so to reconcile any problem, I'd have to wait until the morning. Sad to say, I had just bought a ton of groceries and they were in the fridge and freezer.

When I woke up, I was surprised to see the fridge and all the food inside was still cold and freezer foods were all still frozen! (Although there was still no electricity). Thank you God!

Afterwards, I called my landlord and explained the situation. Then she proceeded to explain in Chinese (as she does not speak any English) where to find the switchboard. I had a terrible time understanding what she was saying, because she kept saying the word "bulletin board" in Chinese, which I didn't know. She was trying to say the switchboard was behind the bulletin board in the living room. At long last when she said, "the big brown thing with lots of notes on it" I finally got it! Then I turned all the lights on and off, as she said, but only restored half of the house's electricity. So she said she would come over in the afternoon to investigate the electrical problem, and then, at 2pm send the AC repair man. I said it wasn't necessary, since November isn't that hot (70's). But she insisted. So glad my landlord is a Christian, and moreover, very patient with me (my poor Chinese)!

Used to think my Chinese was good, but have had so many humbling experiencing to let me know my listening, speaking and language skill in general has light years to go til fluency, although I've studied so hard. However, I enjoy studying the language so much, I'm sure I will continue to improve over time! Oh, ya, we were talking about exploding air conditioners, weren't we?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb