It could always be worse. Take that as you will. : )


Advertisement
Asia
February 17th 2013
Published: February 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This is my village vacation located near Anfu city 3 1/2 hours south of Nanchang. Enjoy!

2.9.13





Well, it’s New Year’s Eve and it’s pretty much going how I
thought it would. There’ s little heat, almost no communication between me and
the family, and plenty of time to do nothing since Shelly is spending time with
her family and participating in the traditions of the day. I really need to see if she can send me home
Wednesday because I just don’t think I want to handle day after day of this.
Maybe if there was central heating I’d be ok, but when I’m bundled in bed with
no internet and no TV I’m not a happy camper. I’m definitely glad I came, but
I’m also glad this is a onetime thing. : )





It really has been a good day so far though. This morning
Shelly and I both had our quiet times and we then got to eat some breakfast
noodles in the kitchen with her family. After that we headed back inside so we
could put up the doorway signs. For every doorway. It was cute seeing Shelly so
excited and running door to door to put up the signs and telling me what some
of them meant.





It also meant we got to take a little walk to their other
house which is currently unused since there were some extra signs. After dropping off some tofu to some
neighbors we made our way down the road to her father and uncle’s home. She
said it was where she grew up, but her father and uncle didn’t have a good
relationship so they decided to move apart to different houses. It was really
neat exploring the house because originally I thought Shelly’s current house
was traditional. It is to a degree, but it’s “new” traditional. Her old house
is what you’d read about in a novel. It’s probably what most westerners think
about when we think China. We were able to put up the signs, sweep up a bit and
then head back to get ready for lunch.





Shelly warned me that before lunch there would be firecrackers
going off and boy were there. There had been fireworks going off all day, but
right before lunch Shelly’s dad let off a whole string of them plus some super
loud grenade type ones. After that, both her mom and dad brought out lunch and
then presented some of it to

Advertisement



17th February 2013

is this like part one? it didn\'t seem finished.
18th February 2013

finished?
It is, i just got tired of journaling. : )

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb