Kampotian Quotient


Advertisement
Asia
September 27th 2011
Published: September 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

life in Kampot...


beyond interesting
very exciting
inspires me every day

to live with the verve
and nerve
to persevere

chase dreams
or die trying

close to death yesterday
motorcycle accident
lost it at 60 mph

moto laid down
into oncoming traffic
hit a Khmer Suburban

barely touched the bumper
apologetic me
"Som toh, som toh, som toh," I said

sorry in Khmer
they split
I took a break

side of the road
thanking my lucky stars
and crying

not ready for death
need a son or daughter first
progeny

and a novel
The Prophet of Babylon
still writing in my head

soon surrounded by Khmer Muslims
mosque across the street
fifteen came to check on my welfare

blownt away by the milk of human kindness



Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb