Da Mei Xia, painless retreat for mid-Autumn festival


Advertisement
Asia
September 11th 2011
Published: September 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Beautiful Da Mei XiaBeautiful Da Mei XiaBeautiful Da Mei Xia

It's perfect! Except for the price of those beachfront condos.
Most of the maddness you may be viewing about travling in China during the Mid-Autumn Festival is true. Yes, eveyone schlepping boxes of mooncakes through bus stations and shouting at ticket agents, and well, the usual holiday nusences.

It's advised to stay put if you're in Guangdong and looking for peace and quiet, my mission yesterday was to transpant myself from the heart of Guangzhou to a beach. I wanted to drink beer, read books, listen to music, look at women, and be disturbed by noone. Mission accomplished!

It was easy and now I'm back, refreshed and ready to take on the remaining 3+ months of 2011. I did this at Da Mei Xia in Shenzhen. The hour and a half travel plus train tickets were well worth it.

I didn't go to Zhuhai. I lived there for two years and the beaches are pretty nasty. Zhuhai is great for cycling and observing the different forms of garbage that float ashore. Not being factious, I once saw a diseased pig carcass washed up on the beach in Zhuhai. Should I show you the picture...? Why not.

I've seen other bizzare things on the beaches in this country.
Shenzhen Reporters build a set on the beachShenzhen Reporters build a set on the beachShenzhen Reporters build a set on the beach

Curse these plastic wrappers!
When I visited Sanya I saw families lined up to taking pictures of their children holding a baby alligator. I thought children with alligators was definently a one-up on Harbin's tradition of selling tourists live goats to feed to Siberian Tigers. www.youtube.com/watch?v=H7EiFM1XwZw

There is a time and a place for dead pigs and children with alligators, but my real beach pet peve is wedding photos. I hate those morons standing around with light boards waiting for some careerless photographer to have an idea- while the make up artist tries to make the newly weds look deathly pale. There should be congestion pricing for wedding photos.

None of that at Da Mei Xia. And it's easy to get to from Guangzhou. Take the train from Guangzhou East to Liu Hu Station in Shenzhen, 80 RMB, then take the 387 bus to the last stop. Sure it's faster and cheaper to get to the beach Zhuhai, but Shenzhen doesn't have all the mysterious creatures floating ashore. And the water was perfect, I went for a swim, people played volley ball and everyone there was pretty much having a wonderful day. It was the kind of enviornment where someone had to
God Bless CCTV1God Bless CCTV1God Bless CCTV1

But the four pieces of garbage in a cluster, it calls for more recycling buckets.
be really creative to be unhappy. And who is more creative than CCTV 1?

I lay on my towel watching this two person crew from CCTV 1 interview people but they got bored. So instead of just enjoying a perfect day they took whatever loose newspapers and plastic wrappers they could find on what I thought was a completely spottless beach and tried to give a report about the dire need to pick up garbage on Shenzhen beaches.

Honestly, I tried to walk two steps to a trash to throw away a beer can and an emptry bag of peanuts and someone was already there waiting to make some cash recyling. All the while my stuff was perfectly safe when I stepped away for a swim. It was better than perfect; reasonably priced BBQ across the street.

This BBQ was special. Three guys from Xinjiang performing what seemed to be a central Asian dance marathon while cooking the mutton. I hope that wasn't in the job application when signing up for 'Jolly Uyghor Grill Master Needed in Shenzhen.' Watch the video


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Kid with a baby alligator in SanyaKid with a baby alligator in Sanya
Kid with a baby alligator in Sanya

All kinds of therapy for this little emperor.
Qingdao wedding photoQingdao wedding photo
Qingdao wedding photo

Start congestion pricing for wedding photographers! Write your party secretary!
Pig Carcass on Zhuhai Beach 2011Pig Carcass on Zhuhai Beach 2011
Pig Carcass on Zhuhai Beach 2011

I've seen all kinds of weird things washed up on shore but this was special.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb