Hi from Hong Kong


Advertisement
Asia
April 5th 2011
Published: April 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi all, I am trying again to create my travel blog. Be sure to leave me some news! Here goes week 2! I have to admit, week 1 really flew by. Getting back and forth to the office is really easy, 15 min to walk to the MTR, about 15 mins on the train, then another 10 min walk to the office. It's in a really pretty area, this week I'll try to get pictures there. The people in the office are very nice, but very reserved. My biggest adjustment is not having a car and walking everywhere. It's good for me!

On Saturday, I went to Stanlet market. It's really busy, open air market by the water. I "window" shopped, then had lunch with Mark Bobek and his cousin Bob, who's visiting from Chicago! Then, I took the double decker bus back- it gives you a good view of the city.

On Sunday, I took the ferry over to Lantau island, again with Mark and Bob. It was a beautiful, sunny day, so we had lunch at a Beach cafe and just sat on the beach. Mark said they really only get about 100 sunny days a year, Sao you have to take advantage of them.

Today is a holiday here, so the office is closed. It's Ching Ming, which is a festival honoring the ancestors. They are visiting the gravesides, bringing gifts and cleaning the graves. I may try to take the train to the New Territories.

I miss everyone at home. Wish you were here with me! I write more soon.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb