2 Good Reads


Advertisement
Asia
February 14th 2011
Published: February 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I've just finished reading two really good books.

The first is an old favourite, Pride and Prejudice. Despite the fact I've read it four or five times I still stayed up until 2am to finish it. It's such a funny, relevant book and the perfect fairytale. The problem with me re-reading Austen is that it makes me really, really want to marry a gentleman. Not in terms of money or anything, but manners and attitude. Rachael was laughing at me because I was also inadvertently speaking a bit like an Austen heroine while I was reading it 😊 I've also realised that in order to increase my chances of finding someone with the qualities of a gentleman, I probably need to start acting a little more lady like...

The other book is a bit more serious, but still a very easy read. It's called The Price of Everything by Eduardo Porter. If you've read Freakonomics I think you'll like this. It's very accessible, despite being about economics! He examines the choices we make, and how they have (and will continue to) shaped the world we live in. It's one of those books that you want to have someone else there as you read, so you can share the informative gems with them. It's really been helpful in setting a context for the online Economics course that I have started and hope to finish in the next few months.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0747s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb