Two Days in Hell


Advertisement
Asia
January 24th 2011
Published: January 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Last Night in Phnom Penh



We spent most of our last day in Phnom Penh dodging rats and getting food poisoning it is hard not to leave PP withe the feeling that I will never return (unless someone bought me a return ticket, paid me to go and gave me spending money). We did meet a nice Canadian chick at the Mexican restaurant we ate at on the last night one of thee two establishments that had rats, strangely the only restaurant that we went to that didn't have a rat (we could see) was likely the one that gave me food poisoning. At least they seemed surprised to see a rat at the Mexican restaurant, at the internet shop I warned one of the people who sat down next to me and she asked me if it worried me, I thought but didn't say yes it scares me more than a cobra, if a cobra bites me at least I know what anti-venom to use who knows what that sick looking rat has got but the tough guy that I am I said no while keeping my feet well and truly off the ground. I only managed to get a shit photo of it as I didn't want to antagonise it. We got home around 2200 and crashed out ready for our 0825 flight to Singapore tomorrow.

Hell Part 1



I woke up around 0300 not feeling to good and wondered whether that Canadian chick had spiked my drink or maybe I'd had more drinks than I thought. I ended up spewing for the next 2 hours (I was grateful for the half hour of sleep that I did get). We got up around 0530 for our 0600 cab to the airport I was so sick I could barely walk thankfully Amanda took control and packed up my bag and carried me to the cab. The only thing I packed was a plastic bag just in case I felt sick in the cab, it was only 15 minutes into our trip when the before mentioned "yak bag" turned out to be a master stroke as instead of kicking us out of his cab the cabbie seeing the almost full plastic bag suggested we pull over and get some tablets from a chemist, all I cared about was a new bag. Amanda got me some medication unfortunately only maxalon (I could have handled some Valium) and a new bag while I try to find an inconspicuous place to dump the full one. We got to the airport an hour and a half before our flight and some how got through security and customs without anyone thinking I was a nervous drug mule although I did manage to clear one of the main toilets at the Cambodian International airport with one huge projectile vomit (I wonder what it would have looked like from the outside everyone rushing out then I walk out looking like a dead ferret. The plane trip was also a nightmare although I didn't throw up (mainly dure to the maxalon) I couldn't read, write or speak and some nasty bastard did a fart that if bottled could be used in chemical warfare and Amanda still denies it was her and I agree I would have owned up to that one it was horrific. We got to the Moon hotel and checked in only to find there was one room ready to go but it was small, I didn't care I had to crash out or I would die so we took it, a decision that Amanda lived to regret.

Hell Part 2



I wont describe part 2 in as much detail as I did part 1 just know that part 2 was twice as bad as Part 1. I was on the toilet every 30 mins until 0400 the following morning. When I was on the plan I thought I wouldn't wish this on my worst enemy and then thinking actually maybe on my worst enemy but after part 2 no one deserves that. I felt sorry for Amanda even having to listen thanks to our elf sized room (you had to walk on the bed to get to the bathroom). I crashed at around 0400 hoping tomorrow would be a good day.

Hell Part 3



Then we met Batam... The ferry ride over was quite nice leaving the picturesque views of the Singaporean Harbour only to be welcomed into Batam (Indonesia) with expensive Visa fees rude employees and perverted cab drivers. The cabbies were lucky I was still in pretty shit condition, the way they looked at Amanda made my blood boil. The scenery in Batam makes it the perfect place to film a disaster movie you wouldn't have to use any expansive CGI or even hire any extras the place is a fucking nightmare. We decided after doing a quick walk around that Batam wasn't for us and we were getting the first ferry back tomorrow. Amanda booked some accommodation in Singapore for tomorrow night, we had dinner at the hotel $45 AUD later and possibly some more food poisoning and we were in bed. I woke up feeling a lot better this morning partly as I had almost fully recovered from my food poisoning but mainly because we were leaving Batam. The only way I will ever go back to Batam is if my plane crashes on the island and if that does happen I will try with the final strength left in my burnt broken body to crawl into the water and swim into Singaporean waters to die.

Singapore 24the of January



We got into Singapore just after lunch and had a really nice lunch at a little "duck joint???" I don't know they basically sell duck and noodles which is what we ordered it was fantastic, feeling completely revitalised we intend to explore Singapore for the next couple of days I'm definitely having a few drinks tonight to celebrate leaving Batam.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb