Day 2 Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Asia
January 19th 2011
Published: January 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

18th/19th Phnom Penh



First of all I apologise for my atrocious spelling throughout the blog (Amanda told me how to spell atrocious). The day went as planned after a bit of a sleep in thanks to the bourbon we bought in Siem Reap. We left the hotel about 0930ish and walked to the royal palace with the every tuk tuk driver saying hello and calling me by my Cambodian name Sir Tuk, which will now be my Australian name, so please take note. The royal palace was closed even thought the sign says open from 9-11 2-5 so we walked around the corner to the National museum which was worth a look, I must admit I am getting sick of seeing a shit load of buddhas in a room. Especially as we will have our own buddha room after this trip (I have bought so many buddhas). Our next destination was Wat Phnom and as has become our custom on this trip we took the long way and ended up at Wat Phnom around 1430 some 3 hours later. The long trip was compounded by the fact that Wat Phnom is shit and we only spent 10 minutes there including a 5 minute rest on a bench. We tuk tukked it back to the Royal Palace which was now well and truly open and paid the $12.50 entry fee (enough to by a small house in Cambodia) to enter. Amanda was forced to where a sarong as her shorts didn't cover her knees. We decide to split up as Amanda likes to spend longer studying the exhibits/architecture and as you may have noticed I get bored in less than 10 minutes at looking at different coloured buddhas. I thought the royal palace was a waste of time it was full of Cambodian high school kids on an excursion and a shit load of different buddhas my favourite. I did manage to teach the school kids the finger though, which I am quite proud of (Amanda not so much). We left there and plan on a few beers/wine over looking the river Mekong. I need to go to the toilet.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb