Siem Reap


Advertisement
Asia
January 8th 2011
Published: January 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Got up at 4.30am to see the sun rise at Angkor Wat. (I say we got up, this is a gross exaggeration as neither of us slept at all for some reason – I used to say jet lag didn’t exist but now, let me tell you, I have seen otherwise!). Unfortunately it was quite a cloudy day, so we didn’t get the full effect of the crimson skies and rays of sun reflecting on the lake in front of the temple. Still, it was pretty and nice to see.

It was fun walking there in the dark, neither of us realized there was water either side of us as we were walking across the bridge!

The Angkor temples themselves – I’m sorry, I’ve tried, and I’m sure I will try again in the future, but I just can’t get excited about ancient civilization. Lizzie tried her best to enthrall me with facts about the temples, but most just look like a pile of rocks to me! With the exception of one we saw, which was quite cool, intertwined with massive gnarled trees – looked quite fantastical.

Highlights included Lizzie trying and failing to be David Attenborough:

Lizzie: Oh look, a tortoise!
Emma: (examining alleged tortoise) No, I think it’s just a stone…

And Lizzie getting accosted by a transsexual hawker person who had a speech impediment – so creepy, she tried to drape rape her with a pashmina. Lizzie will have nightmares about this figure for weeks. I still can’t recall the incident without crying with laughter.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb