Ko Tao to Ko Samui


Advertisement
Asia
January 8th 2011
Published: January 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Now this is when I wish my backpack hadn't been misplaced in Hong Kong at the start of my journey, because I could easily have spent two more days in Ko Tao just chillin. No necessarily diving, but chillin. The ferry ride over there was sketchy at best with a few getting sick, however coming back the seas were rather calm in my mind, but we were bobbing up and down a bit, which seemed too much for some, there were plastic bags being handed out like it was Halloween! Love the sea myself, in fact during my only day of diving thus far, our rather large dive boat was getting tossed around quite a bit in the rough seas. Loved it! The first dive took us out to Southwest Pinnacle (about 30min cruise off Ko Tao) Most of the divers were those taking their advanced open water, with a few of us squeezed in for Fun Dives as they call them. Decided on Crystal Dive shop based on what I read. Wasn't disappointed however they are one of the more strict shops I have come across, even though I had 35 dives under my belt and dove a Cuba a year ago, they still wanted me to do a refresher. After explaining I only had one day in which to get in as many dives as possible they worked it in! I have had better dives, visibility was poor so one couldn't see much beyond 5m. I had read that this time of year for diving off Ko Tao is not the greatest and that Ko Phi Phi is much better, which is where I end up in about 10 days. So fingers are crossed. Did see a trigger fish which is apparently an agressive fish. And saw my first sea snake. I got up close and personal and then looked around to see where everyone else was, which was about 4-6 feet from my, which made me rather curious.....only later to find out that this sea snake has been known to bite and paralyze divers! Who knew!? Another reason for the poor dive conditions had to do with the moonsoon type rains we had the night before and pretty much during the entire day. Needless to say if they were low on fresh water, their cisterns are overflowing now.

My last day on Ko Tao was a bit rushed as I had to check out by 9:00am which worked out well as the ferry left at 9:30am. Going to assume the hotels are set up to work around the ferry schedules. So getting up around 6:30am with gas still left in my scooter, I decided to go check out some of the bays/coves that are off the beaten path. It soon became apparent my scooter is a dual sport, because not only can it cruise on the paved, dirt roads but it can go up and down seriously steep hills, sand bags, rock piles....sure glad the roads / paths weren't wet this morning! For the $12 it cost me to rent a scooter for 2 days plus $2 in gas, I would highly recommend renting a scooter to get around vs a taxi. So long as you watch out for pedestrians, other scooters, trucks, dogs and the odd lizard, you should be fine:-) It gave me the ability to run around exploring, but also to run some errands and get out and back to my resort which was at the south end of the island about 5-7min drive from the main part of the island Sairee Beach.

So the ferry back to Ko Samui was a strange ordeal, a lot of people trying to get through a small ferry terminal and everyone seeming like they were in a rush......my thinking is if you bought your ticket in advance then you are guaranteed a seat, that plus the fact that they squish us in like sardines.....so noone was going to get left on the island that morning....

So now back in Ko Samui, jumped in a taxi bus (if you buy your ticket in advance the taxi bus is only 100baht vs. 500baht if you try to hire a taxi at the ferry terminal when you dock.... found myself at the south end of Chaweng Beach this time, whereas a few nights earlier I was at the north end. Was in need of a room with air conditioning as a number of personal effects were moist from the time on Ko Tao, humidity can be a bitch. That and my paperwork with plane ticket info was in my backpack I took with me diving and the ink are ran. So trust I can sort all that out once in Bangkok. Tonight is just finding a good place to eat, grab some happy hour beers, have to be up at 6:00am so I make my flight to Bangkok to join up with the GAP tour. Seems like I have been away for more then 7-8 days. And I am only getting started! Next up some time in Bangkok then up north to Chaing Mai for some trekking.

Here is hoping I don't end up with a german roomy for the next two weeks....sorry but the one's I have come across have been quite rude and unpleasant to deal with....perhaps a fellow canadian or american would be a change of pace....

One last log item, my last night on Ko Tao I came across the coolest dinner experience yet, it is an unassuming restaurant from the road as it is elevated and you can't really see it when you drive by, but it said sushi for $139baht )$4cdn. Note one to pass up sushi I decided to give it a shot. Well it was an experience. Yes they have sushi, but they also had pans and pans of raw meat and seafood, salads, noodles, etc. So what you are supposed to do is fill a plate with meats, skewers, etc. and bring back to your table, they then place a small charcoal container on the table with a grill and you have yourself a table ready bbq, and if you want some items steamed or perhaps soup, they have another container for steaming. So picture this two charcoal fired containers on my table, 27 degrees at least, major humidity from all the rain during the day.....hot hot hot, thank goodness for two large bottles of Chang Beer. Thankfully I arrived early so the staff could explain how it all worked, but by the time I had left the place was packed. I could see why, a great way to experience the food of Thailand, and yes i made sure all the meat was cooked through and through. Strange when I was traveling through Central America two years back I was quite worried about the food, but here not so, the water everywhere is drinkable, the food is prepared with pretty high standards, considering some of it can be bought from carts attached to scooters along the side of roads. Think I will need to attend a Thai cooking class, as I have fallen in love with Pad Thai! That said time to hit the streets of Chewang and find me a new dining experience. Bon appetit!

Gerry





Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb