Yogoa


Advertisement
Asia
November 9th 2010
Published: November 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My daily cycle is getting more normal for me as I am getting more comfotable here. I dont do the Goa party scene so I am asleep early and run at sunrise. It is so hot that I can only run about 5km, but it remains a fouvourite part of the day now. My motorcycle travels extend each day. The country side is full of little villages, churches and old Portugese mansions. I made it to Masupa, a little city, and raced around enjoying the bustle.

Then I tried my first yoga at www.cyrilyoga.org. Yoga here is part of the history and is taught in the schools. It has a spiritual element, but does not seem to replace Hinduism. I know little of this, but am willing to learn more. I came India largely to rejuvinate my spiritual health, but I do not think Yoga will play that role. I have gained some inspiration from the people. Their religion is not worn on the sleeve, but is part of their DNA. So is their compassionate and gentle way. So, at this point I wonder if the two are connected.

Yoga started with a fast Chatarunga to warm up and then after a rest we did some classic balancing postures. He had a few abdominal moves that would give Mel a run for her money and then we did plow. I feel like I am rocking along, thanks to Mel's teaching, when in plow he tells us to move our hands flat my our heads and stand up. For those that don't know Yoga belive when I say that such a move would be impossible. A neck breaker. Well I try anyway and fall apart so he shows me how to do it. Kind of like a spring unwinding and you find yourself in Down Dog. Very cool. I did wheel with no effort and then he told us to lift our legs and arms in Wheel. Another moment I am falling all over the floor. He was really cool and I am going back today and again tomorrow before my flight.

I now have an Indian number if anyone needs me. I call SQ like 4 times daily and I love it. Number is 91-9371-378514. Remeber it is 11.5 hours ahead here so I sleep when you are awake.

I am ready for a deeper India. Goa is a beach place. I am heading North to Delhi tomorrow for a look at the Taj and then into the North Country.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb