urgh


Advertisement
Asia
September 25th 2010
Published: September 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, I' ve come down with something. It may just be a combination of the sudden turn in the weather and us working two very long days on very little sleep, but either way I was sneezing most of yesterday afternoon and spent my last class in the evening using quient games. One spirited rendition of heads, shoulders, knees and toes was enough to leave me feeling dizzy.

So I went to bed at about ahfl past 9 last night, but had that delirious kind of nonsleep that accompanies illness and woke up at least terrified that something was in my room. I have only vague recollections but I didn't feel at all rested when I woke up, starving, at 7am. I took had my breakfast in bed then went back to sleep until 11. I pretty much dozed all day, with only Jane Austen for company. I'm rereading Sense and Sensiblility after Rachael talking about it made me realise that I'd forgotten lots of the details. Every time I reread an Austen that one becomes my favourite and this was no exception. In some ways, reading Austen makes me depressed. Women seem to me to have changed very little over the intervening centuries , while men are very different. Well, you still get cads, bounders and scoundrels but there seem to be fewer steadfast, moral goodlooking types about. But at the same time, her books infuse me with such...hope. Maybe, one day I'll find my Edward Ferrar or Mr Darcy ..

Anyhoo, back to real life. Something lovely happened to me today. I was lying on my sick bed, feeling quite sorry for myself, hungry but lazy. i couldn't be bothered to cook and we had no food in. Tarik had invited us for dinner but though Rach was going I didn't feel up to it. She was going to bring me leftovers, but in the meantime there was a knock at the door. And waiting there, was the pizza delivery man! Tarik had sent me pizza! Some girls like flowers, some girls like grapes. i was more than happy with pizza. He knows me so well 😊

Ooh, in bad news. i fell off my chair in the study the day before yesterday (both painful and funny) and landed on my laptop and it's now refusing to charge. Tarik's trying to get it fixed for me, and i have my fingers crossed that my little accident won't end up hugely expensive.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.394s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb