Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Asia
July 7th 2010
Published: July 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Chiang MaiChiang MaiChiang Mai

As seen from the wat at the top of Doi Suthep
I was rapidly running out of money, but the hostel (Green Tulip) was ridiculously cheap and very very nice, probably one of the nicest of the trip. The first day I explored the old city by bicycle, going to some of the many wats which were beautiful. I also saw the foreign cemetary, as suggested by my Lonely Planet, where the bodies of (as the name suggests) foreigners who lived and died in Chiang Mai. I also got a massage at the local women's prison, from a prisoner. She did a good job!

I really really wanted to do a trek, but as I was running low on funds I just couldn't afford to, so after Suthep Doi on day 2 which was a wat near the top of the mountain, I got a bit bored as there is not a lot to do in Chiang Mai although it is lovely. I think one needs to book activities to really get the most out of it. However, I feel that I would rather do a trek in the less touristed town of Mai Sariang by the Myanmar border.


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Beautiful lake at Wat U MongBeautiful lake at Wat U Mong
Beautiful lake at Wat U Mong

there were tons of catfish in this lake, as well as a few turtles which I was very excited about!
Gate to old city Chiang MaiGate to old city Chiang Mai
Gate to old city Chiang Mai

one of four surrounding the tiny city
Fatty Shop (tehe)Fatty Shop (tehe)
Fatty Shop (tehe)

had to get a snap of this made me laugh every time I walked past. A shop for plus size women.
Wat U MongWat U Mong
Wat U Mong

bell on the grounds of this serene temple
Thai KingThai King
Thai King

these were all over Thailand. The Thais love their King.
spot the turtle!spot the turtle!
spot the turtle!

in lake at Wat U Mong
Crystal Buddha at Wat Chiang ManCrystal Buddha at Wat Chiang Man
Crystal Buddha at Wat Chiang Man

in oldest Wat in Chiang Mai dating back to 13th century
Crystal BuddhaCrystal Buddha
Crystal Buddha

this tiny Buddha found in the oldest Wat in Chiang Mai


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb